2 Guarded Steps in one round?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

In Pathfinder you cannot take two 5ft steps in one round, but Starfinder doesn't seem to have the same prohibition. Assuming you trade in your Standard so you can make two move actions, is there any reason both can't be Guarded Steps?


There is no restriction I see for guarded step in the SRD. I guess you could do that.

Liberty's Edge

Yes you can take 2 guarded steps in a round.

A good way to get away from a reach weapon.

Dark Archive

How is it a good way to get away from a reach weapon? It leaves you 5 feet away from said weapon no?


mike roper wrote:
How is it a good way to get away from a reach weapon? It leaves you 5 feet away from said weapon no?

5 feet outside its threat range, yes. The ranged attacker will need to spend a move action to close with you again and cannot full attack. Especially useful if the attacker has another (hopefully tankier) target it can full attack. Very situational, but not useless.

Liberty's Edge

Jimbles the Mediocre wrote:
5 feet outside its threat range, yes. The ranged attacker will need to spend a move action to close with you again and cannot full attack. Especially useful if the attacker has another (hopefully tankier) target it can full attack. Very situational, but not useless.

I think you mean "melee" attacker, right?


Gary Bush wrote:
Jimbles the Mediocre wrote:
5 feet outside its threat range, yes. The ranged attacker will need to spend a move action to close with you again and cannot full attack. Especially useful if the attacker has another (hopefully tankier) target it can full attack. Very situational, but not useless.
I think you mean "melee" attacker, right?

Gah. I meant the attacker with a reach weapon.

Scarab Sages Starfinder Design Lead

3 people marked this as a favorite.

You can take a guarded step as a move action. If you choose to, you could take two move actions in the same turn, and make both guarded steps.


Only reason I can see doing this is if you're next to something that can attack you and has reach.

Otherwise might as will take the withdraw action.

Dark Archive

Jimbles the Mediocre wrote:
mike roper wrote:
How is it a good way to get away from a reach weapon? It leaves you 5 feet away from said weapon no?
5 feet outside its threat range, yes. The ranged attacker will need to spend a move action to close with you again and cannot full attack. Especially useful if the attacker has another (hopefully tankier) target it can full attack. Very situational, but not useless.

don't think I said useless and well yes they can't full attack (unless they have right feats) that is still not a "good" way per say

Scarab Sages

Ok, with Owen weighing in this is pretty much closed. The answer is yes, with a caveat that it might not be the optimal action in many situations.


It is probably an edge case of when you would want to do this but you can do so if you need to.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / 2 Guarded Steps in one round? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions