5-foot step during Reposition Maneuver


Rules Questions


Advanced Player's Guide, p. 322 wrote:

You can attempt to reposition a foe to a different location as a standard action. You can only reposition an opponent that is no more than one size category larger than you. A reposition attempts to force a foe to move to a different position in relation to your location without doing any harm. If you do not have the Improved Reposition feat or a similar ability, attempting to reposition a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. You cannot use this maneuver to move a foe into a space that is intrinsically dangerous, such as a pit or wall of fire.

If your attack is successful, you may move your target 5 feet to a new location. For every 5 by which your attack exceeds your opponent’s CMD, you can move the target an additional 5 feet. The target must remain within your reach at all times during this movement, except for the final 5 feet of movement, which can be to a space adjacent to your reach.
An enemy being moved by a reposition does not provoke an attack of opportunity because of the movement unless you possess the Greater Reposition feat. You cannot move a creature into a square that is occupied by a solid object or obstacle.

Can I make 5-foot step while repositioning the enemy (as long as I keep the enemy within my reach)? For example, let's say I rolled high enough to move the enemy 20 feet. Can I do the following sequence:

Initially the position is (O: me, E: enemy, X: free space):

EXXXX
XOXXX

I reposition the enemy 10 feet within my initial reach:

XXEXX
XOXXX

I make a 5-foot step:

XXEXX
XXOXX

I reposition the enemy another 5 feet within my current reach:

XXXEX
XXOXX

I reposition the enemy the final 5 feet to a space adjacent to my current reach:

XXXXE
XXOXX


I would say no, its all 1 action and you can't do something in the middle of it.
I might allow you to do an immediate action as they can be done at any time.


There is a rule

Core Rulebook, p. 189 wrote:
You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round.

So taking a 5-foot step during a standard action is not a problem. But I split the movement of the target of the reposition in two parts, and the final position of the opponent is not adjacent to my reach as it was at the beginning of the maneuver, and I don't know if that is legal.

The Concordance

Since you can 5' step during actions I'd say it's allowed.


Yep, you sure can.


hmm after seeing the wording on 5foot step I guess you can. I change my previous answer to yes

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 5-foot step during Reposition Maneuver All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions