Gray Maiden armor stacking


Rules Questions


FAQ
Masked Maiden
Sanguine Angel

Armor training... it stacks strangely. Instead of adding the levels, you add the "armor trainings" together. Sanguine Angel says

Quote:
If the sanguine angel has levels in another class that grants the armor training class feature, the levels stack to determine its benefits, but only when she is wearing Gray Maiden plate.

Presumably this is supposed to be instead of gaining it again, even though the ability fails to say that. But, what if your a Fighter 3/ Masked Maiden 3/ Sanguine Angel 4? Count as a 7th level Fighter and 7th Level Masked Maiden, getting Armor Training 4 as per the FAQ?


I have no idea what you're talking about.

But the sentence "If you have levels in another class...the levels stack" should be how it would go.


The FAQ linked is talking about the Myrmidarch Magus specifically because it doesn't gain Armor Training at the same speed as other sources (and doesn't advance past II, or include the same clause about stacking).
Fighter 3/ Masked Maiden 3/ Sanguine Angel 4 counts as Fighter 10 for Armor Training progression.


Then what does a fighter 3 masked maiden 3 count as?


Fighter 6.


Based on? Neither class mentions stacking.


Masked Maiden wrote:

Armor Training (Ex)

All Gray Maidens were drilled in the use of their armor, and as a masked maiden continues to lapse in and out of indoctrination, that training emerges slowly from her subconscious. At 3rd level, a masked maiden gains the Fighter’s armor training class feature, and at 19th level she gains armor Mastery. She treats her vigilante level as her fighter level for the purposes of both.

This replaces the vigilante’s social talents gained at 3rd, 7th, 11th, 15th, and 19th levels.


I do not see the relevance of your quote Kid, care to elaborate?


Based on the fact one class says "treat this as fighter levels" and the other is actually fighter levels. And because armour training is based on fighter levels.


That does not mean they stack. Many classes and archetypes have that wording. Most say they stack, some do not and thus do not. Ranger and druic animal companions stack because druid says so, Brute vigilante unarmed damage stacks with monk, because it says so. Sacred Fist Warpriest and Monk do not stack for unarmed damage.

All these abilities share that wording.


Here is an FAQ entry that I think clarifies my previous post.

FAQ


That FAQ doesn't mean anything as far as being a good example.

The class you're asking about gives an ability that says "this is the fighter ability and your levels are treated as a fighters."

Nothing in the channel energy ability says "your level count as a clerics" which is why there's an FAQ.

Fighters level + something that counts as a fighters level = something That determines it's power level based on fighter levels.

Stacks

Nothing in paladin or oracle abilities say counts as clerics levels.

Doesn't stack


If the sanguine angel has levels in another class that grants the armor training class feature, the levels (in that other class) stack (with the levels in sanguine angel) to determine (your effective fighter level for armor training), but only when she is wearing Gray Maiden plate.

make sense?


Makes sense if your talking Sanguine Angel and Fighter. What about Fighter + Masked Maiden, or Myrmidon + Sanguine Angel, or Fighter + Masked Maiden + Sanguine Angel

Or armored battle mage, or Gun Tank?

Do I add my Myrmidon level to my Sanguine Angel derived 'fighter' levels?


Quote:
She treats her vigilante level as her fighter level for the purposes of both.
Quote:
Channel (Su): You can channel positive energy like a cleric, using your oracle level as your effective cleric level when determining the amount of damage healed (or caused to undead) and the DC.

using your oracle level as your effective cleric level

treasts her vigilante level as her fighter level

Seem pretty similar to me.

Believe me, I wish abilities like that auto stacked. Would make my life alot easier. If you can find any actual evidence for your assertion I will do a happy dance and start a new thread to share it. But the general rule is "no, unless explicitly stated".

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Gray Maiden armor stacking All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.