Bard / Sorcerer Class Template question


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

In the Monster Codex, we're introduced to new simple templates for each of the Core classes. Two of them being the bard and sorcerer.

Got a question regarding them specificially. Could someone please explain/clarify "Sorcerer Spells sorcerer creatures can cast a small number of sorcerer spells using its HD as its CL and gaining two spell slots for every spell level known"?

I admit that I would have much rather preferred there be an example for each template so any ambiguity would be lessened.


kevin_video wrote:

In the Monster Codex, we're introduced to new simple templates for each of the Core classes. Two of them being the bard and sorcerer.

Got a question regarding them specificially. Could someone please explain/clarify "Sorcerer Spells sorcerer creatures can cast a small number of sorcerer spells using its HD as its CL and gaining two spell slots for every spell level known"?

I admit that I would have much rather preferred there be an example for each template so any ambiguity would be lessened.

Considering that these are meant to be "simple templates", and that a creature that has 3rd level sorcerer spells from the sorcerer template would under one version of your question have like six spell slots for every spell level and thus wouldn't be very simple...

I would say that it says what it means. You know two spells at every spell level that you could cast.

Grand Lodge

Dark Midian wrote:
I would say that it says what it means. You know two spells at every spell level that you could cast.

Well, you don't know two spells. You know two 0 and one 1st if you're 1-3 HD, and that number changes as you go up with more HD. Those are your known spells. Only the bard and sorcerer say this because the other casters are all prepared so what you see on the chart is all you cast. The bard and sorcerer have their own chart in addition to saying the text.

The PRD has it available to look at.

My thought was that you get two castings per day for each spell level available. So if a creature has 2 HD, you know the two 0 level and one 1st level, but you can only cast twice total for each level.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bard / Sorcerer Class Template question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions