Mystic Theurge CL Question


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Im planning to do 3 levels of cleric followed by 3 levels of wizards then 10 levels of MT.

My question is this:

Can I use:

Multidisciplined: Born to two races, half-elves have a knack for combining different magical traditions. If a half-elf with this racial trait has spellcasting abilities from at least two different classes, the effects of spells she casts from all her classes are calculated as though her caster level were 1 level higher, to a maximum of her character level. This racial trait replaces multitalented. Source PRG:HA

AND

Bifurcated Magic
Source Inner Sea Races pg. 194
Category Race
Requirement(s) Half-Elf
You’ve studied the methods of both elven and human spellcasters. Pick two classes when you gain this trait—your caster level in each of those classes is treated as 1 higher as long as this doesn’t raise your caster level above your total Hit Dice. This doesn’t stack with any similar increase from traits such as Magical Knack

I am doing this to up both my cleric and wizard CL by 2 This would I think help from the level dip normally found with the MT. Would this work together? Is +2 CL to wizard and cleric worth the alternative racial trait and the beginning trait? Any feedback would be appreciated.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hell yes it is! You are going to be lagging badly behind in terms of spell levels available as it is, this leaves you just one level behind in terms of caster level. I'd recommend taking the magical knack trait as well, that will allow you to et one of your casting classes up to your character level.

TBH the Mystic Theurge route is sadly a weak sauce one. What it could do with is a feat or feat chain that can boost not just the casting levels but the level dependent other features of the two originating classes - I've played with one that boosts the non-spell-casting abilities of the base classes by one level for every two levels of spellcasting you gain from them, and it worked OK - it meant your channelling and free spells added to spell-book didn't stall out completely.


How set are you to be cleric 3 / wizard 3 before you go into Mystic Theurge? If you take wizard 5 / cleric 1 and take Faith Magic as your bonus 5th feat, you can qualify for mystic Theurge at the same level and only be behind one level in Wizard.

If you have access to the Inner Sea Magic book, you can use the guild access (Kintargo Opera House) to boost your spellcasting level (not just caster level) of your cleric class by three and you wizard by one.


Faith magic shouldn't work, because it is one spell not plural spells like mystic theurge requires. "Spells: Able to cast 2nd-level divine spells and 2nd-level arcane spells."


thelemonache wrote:
Faith magic shouldn't work, because it is one spell not plural spells like mystic theurge requires. "Spells: Able to cast 2nd-level divine spells and 2nd-level arcane spells."

If that is correct a sorcerer 4 oracle 4 would not be eligible either, as they only know 1 2nd level spell for each class, does that sound right?


Java Man wrote:
thelemonache wrote:
Faith magic shouldn't work, because it is one spell not plural spells like mystic theurge requires. "Spells: Able to cast 2nd-level divine spells and 2nd-level arcane spells."
If that is correct a sorcerer 4 oracle 4 would not be eligible either, as they only know 1 2nd level spell for each class, does that sound right?

but they can cast them more than once per day :) they don't have to be different spells, just plural spells


So, would a pearl of power get around this? And where does it say that the plural requirement is "per day?" and not per year?


thelemonache wrote:
Faith magic shouldn't work, because it is one spell not plural spells like mystic theurge requires. "Spells: Able to cast 2nd-level divine spells and 2nd-level arcane spells."

That is being overly restrictive on the meaning of 'spells per day'. As mentioned by Java Man, a single lvl 2 pearl of power will recharge the spell slot allowing you to cast it again. You do have the ability to cast 2nd level divine spells, even if over the course of two days.


found it. you win :)

Quote:

Pathfinder Design Team Official Rules Response Jul 12, 2013, 06:19 pm

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook (OGL)
The design team does not consider a prerequisite or requirement of "ability to cast 1st-level arcane spells" to literally mean "ability to cast at least two or more 1st-level arcane spells."

Being able to cast one spell of that type and level meets the prerequisite or requirement (if the prerequisite or requirement was intended to mean "two or more," it would say that, or use language like "at least two").


Besides all you need is like a 14 in your casting stat to get a bonus 2nd level spell right?


Vidmaster7 wrote:
Besides all you need is like a 14 in your casting stat to get a bonus 2nd level spell right?

true, but not relevant in the instance of a wizard using Faith Magic to cast a single divine spell per day.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mystic Theurge CL Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.