A Hand question about weapons


Rules Questions


Assuming you have the Possessed Hand feat, and Martial Weapon Pro. Your character picks up a Bastard Sword. You swing the sword with 2h's as you aren't proficient with it otherwise. Do you gain the +1 damage from Possessed hand with this "1h weapon"?


I would assume not.


But its classified as a 1h weapon.


It's classified as a one handed weapon only if you have the exotic prof. feat for it.

Scarab Sages

Shrouded Traveler wrote:
It's classified as a one handed weapon only if you have the exotic prof. feat for it.

The handed rules are so confusing. It's one handed exotic weapon.

If you have proficency in all martial weapons, it can be treated as a two handed martial weapon. It's still a one handed exotic weapon, but you treat it as a two handed martial one. This distinction doesn't always matter, but it may come up.

For example, if using the Craft (weapons), the DC to create exotic weapons is higher than martial weapons. Doesn't matter if it's treated as a martial weapon, the DC for crafting would be based on it being an exotic weapon. Not having the exotic proficency doesn't lower the craft DC...


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Murdock Mudeater wrote:
Shrouded Traveler wrote:
It's classified as a one handed weapon only if you have the exotic prof. feat for it.

The handed rules are so confusing. It's one handed exotic weapon.

If you have proficency in all martial weapons, it can be treated as a two handed martial weapon. It's still a one handed exotic weapon, but you treat it as a two handed martial one. This distinction doesn't always matter, but it may come up.

For example, if using the Craft (weapons), the DC to create exotic weapons is higher than martial weapons. Doesn't matter if it's treated as a martial weapon, the DC for crafting would be based on it being an exotic weapon. Not having the exotic proficency doesn't lower the craft DC...

Just to add something - you didn't say why it is a one handed exotic weapon with a special rule to allow use as a martial weapon instead of the other way round.

It is because that is what it is listed as on the weapons tables. It is listed as a one handed exotic weapon (with a special exception for 2 handed use), not a two handed martial weapon (with a special exception for 1 handed use).


So would the Bastard Sword 2h'ed swing, with only martial weapon pro allow for the extra point of damage from the Possessed Hand feat. Possessed hand calls out damage with a 1h weapon. Not a Weapon you are proficient with. Not a weapon currently wield with 1h. It calls out a 1h weapon.


Rylden wrote:
So would the Bastard Sword 2h'ed swing, with only martial weapon pro allow for the extra point of damage from the Possessed Hand feat. Possessed hand calls out damage with a 1h weapon. Not a Weapon you are proficient with. Not a weapon currently wield with 1h. It calls out a 1h weapon.

The feat sentence states:

Quote:
Any attack you make with a one-handed weapon

I agree with Trish and Murdock.

The attack must be made with a weapon used as One-Handed to qualify for the feat. If you atack with a bastard sword with martial proficiency only, then you are "making an attack with a two-handed weapon"

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A Hand question about weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions