Spell Resistance question


Rules Questions


We have had a question pop up in tonight's Runelords game.

The wizard cast Fire Snake at three targets. The first had natural spell resistance and the spell failed to breach it. The question we can't have is, does the spell continue on to hit the remaining targets or does SR stop it?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Quote:
Spell resistance is a special defensive ability. If your spell is being resisted by a creature with spell resistance, you must make a caster level check (1d20 + caster level) at least equal to the creature’s spell resistance for the spell to affect that creature. The defender’s spell resistance is like an Armor Class against magical attacks. Include any adjustments to your caster level to this caster level check.

Spell resistance doesn't destroy the spell effect, it just makes the effect not to affect that creature. Even if the creature in the first square of the area of effect of fire snake resists the effect, the effect is not destroyed, and the remaining squares are affected as normal.

We may imagine the fire sanke hitting creatures one after another, but the relevant rules are no different than in the case of a fireball. Just that one creature resist it means nothing to the other creatures.


Thank you.


be wary though some spell specifically say that the spell is dispel if it misses against spell resistance, like spiritual hammer

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Resistance question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.