Can I use the Weapon Master Archetype's Deadly Critical feature if I used Scorching Weapons?


Rules Questions


After MUCH theorycrafting, I've finally completed my build for, as you may have guessed, an Ifrit Fighter! I just have one question. Scorching Weapons is a swift action and Deadly Critical is an immediate action. And to my knowledge, swift actions and immediate actions cannot be done on the same turn. However, I'm guessing since the latter is said to be an immediate action, I'm guessing it's implied to take place after your turn has technically ended. Is this correct? Or would I have to forgo the Scorching Weapon bonus for the chance to activate Deadly Critcal?

Thanks in advance for your help!


CRB wrote:

Immediate Actions

Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.

Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.

So you can't use both during your turn. You can use a Swift Action during your turn, then an Immediate Action after your turn, but then you can't use either type until after your next turn.


Gisher wrote:
CRB wrote:

Immediate Actions

Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.

Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.

So you can't use both during your turn. You can use a Swift Action during your turn, then an Immediate Action after your turn, but then you can't use either type until after your next turn.

Question is though, does Deadly Critical count as being on your turn or after it?

Shadow Lodge

IfritSlasher wrote:
Gisher wrote:
CRB wrote:

Immediate Actions

Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.

Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.

So you can't use both during your turn. You can use a Swift Action during your turn, then an Immediate Action after your turn, but then you can't use either type until after your next turn.
Question is though, does Deadly Critical count as being on your turn or after it?

Per the quoted text above, it depends on when you make the hit that is a critical. If that critical hit occurs during your turn, then the immediate action is on your turn and counts as a swift action. If the critical hit occurred when it wasn't your turn, such as on an attack of opportunity, then it would be an immediate action. Either way, you wouldn't be able to use it again until your next turn.


Ferka wrote:
IfritSlasher wrote:
Gisher wrote:
CRB wrote:

Immediate Actions

Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.

Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.

So you can't use both during your turn. You can use a Swift Action during your turn, then an Immediate Action after your turn, but then you can't use either type until after your next turn.
Question is though, does Deadly Critical count as being on your turn or after it?
Per the quoted text above, it depends on when you make the hit that is a critical. If that critical hit occurs during your turn, then the immediate action is on your turn and counts as a swift action. If the critical hit occurred when it wasn't your turn, such as on an attack of opportunity, then it would be an immediate action. Either way, you wouldn't be able to use it again until your next turn.

Ah, OK! Thank you!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can I use the Weapon Master Archetype's Deadly Critical feature if I used Scorching Weapons? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.