Wolf: Sunder and trip with the same attack?


Rules Questions


If I have a wolf animal companion, can I sunder then trip with a single attack, due to te special ability of the wolf?

Trip Universal Monster Rule wrote:
A creature with the trip special attack can attempt to trip its opponent as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity if it hits with the specified attack.

Since a combat maneuver is an attack, and since the attack coul it, what about a sunder->trip? It seems really strange to me, but I can't find rules against it.


The trip ability only works with the attack it is specified with. In the case of the wolf, it is a melee bite attack. It doesn't work with combat maneuvers. Even if with sunder maneuver you are using the same part of the body (teeth) and you are also dealing damage, it's a different type of attack.


Yeah, unfortunately. That being said, you can combine Lockjaw and the Wolf's trip ability to great effect. Attack, attempt to trip, then gain the bonus from a prone enemy on the grapple check you get from Lockjaw.

Get a wolf with a 3 Int (putting that first +1 you get at 4 into Int), and he can eventually take Greater Grapple. When combined with Lockjaw, you now have an animal companion who can put an opponent on the ground, deal ok damage, and pin them while you and your allies show them your stabs.

It's terrifying.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wolf: Sunder and trip with the same attack? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions