
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Can a boon that is for "one newly created PC" be used on a PC that has GM chronicles applied but has never actually been played?
What I was told with a boon with that phrasing was that the first chronicle has to have a date later than the chronicle sheet with the boon regardless whether it was a player or GM chronicle.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

This is the FAQ that's currently posted:
I have multiple boons that say "this must be your first Chronicle sheet." Can I use more than one on the same character?
Yes. You can apply any number of boons that say they must be your first Chronicle sheet to a character, as long as they all go before the first Chronicle sheet that represents an adventure that you have played or ran.
That does seem to be slightly different from what I remember the old FAQ being (or it might have just been a forum post clarifying). I seem to remember something official saying you could assign a boon like a race boon as long as you didn't have more than 3XP, and then that got extended to as long as you hadn't played the character at 2nd level or higher. That no longer seems to be the case.
I'm curious about this one, as I have a character I was planning to assign a race boon to, but the character number already has 1 chronicle on it. It's not a huge deal if I can't do that. I can always assign the boon to a new character number, then GM an evergreen or two. I was just trying to avoid the risk of an unlucky 1st scenario death costing me a race boon, so I was going to put it on an existing number.
I do know in the past, people have assigned a race boon to characters with multiple levels of XP that were still eligible for a rebuild, so if that is actually not legal anymore, it would be good to know for sure.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Mike Brock clarified that you can apply "Must be first boon" before the character is played. So if you have a GM blob that would be sixth level you can still apply a race boon that you got just as long as it was before you played the character for the first time. I'm sure someone has that post linked somewhere. It's been asked many times. And the FAQ doesn't discount that. The FAQ is just saying that you can have more than one "must be first boon".

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I certainly hope that's still the case. The wording in the FAQ makes it questionable, though, because it's phrased "as long as they go before the first Chronicle sheet that represents an adventure that you have played or ran." Ran generally is referring to GMing, so taken without the context from past posts, this sounds like it is saying that you have to apply the boons before the first GM chronicle. Again, I know that's not how it worked in the past. I just want to make sure you're still allowed to rebuild into a boon race on a character with credit before I apply one of my race boons and later find out it's illegal.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

As long as everyone is pretty sure that still applies. I originally went looking for that clarification when I ran into the FAQ, which is from this year when everything was updated. Several things that used to work one way changed when those updates happened, which is what's made me unsure if the old clarification still applies.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Bumping this thread on the off chance post-Gencon someone has time to look at it and confirm whether or not the FAQ was meant to restrict applying a race boon to a character with 3XP or less. I have reached the 3XP point playing the Human version of my Vigilante, and would now be applying the Dhampir boon as I hit second level and actually start doing some Vigilante things instead of just staying in his Human Social Identity. If it was intentional to reverse Mike Brock's previous ruling, now would be the time that I would instead apply the boon to a new number and GM credit him back up to 2nd level. I'd much rather maintain character continuity (including the 1 missed prestige/fame in his first scenario).
I have multiple boons that say "this must be your first Chronicle sheet." Can I use more than one on the same character?
Yes. You can apply any number of boons that say they must be your first Chronicle sheet to a character, as long as they all go before the first Chronicle sheet that represents an adventure that you have played or ran.
posted Mar 13, 2017
Bolding mine. That's the part that has made this confusing, as it is a newer FAQ that seems to contradict the prior ruling on the message board.