
![]() |
So my question relates to Promise of Faith which is from Blossoming Light a Cleric Archetype from Adventurer's Guide.
Promise of Faith removes the all shield and armor proficiency from the Cleric and if they wear any armor or use a shield they can't cast spells/use class abilities during or for 1 minute after that period.
Based on how I read how Instant Armor works and Promise of Faith is worded I'm going to assume no you can't cast spells or use abilities.
I'm mostly just trying to find out if it's possible since I'm not the most knowledgeable person when it comes to those kinds of things.
I appreciate the help

Saethori |

Promise of Faith: A blossoming light vows to trust in her deity’s protection over arms and armor. She is not proficient with any armor or shields. The blossoming light cannot use or benefit from any of her class features (including spellcasting) while wearing armor or using a shield, or for 1 minute thereafter.
You instantly wrap your body in a suit of armor made from opaque force. At your option, the armor can be decorated with your religion’s holy symbol in a prominent place, such as upon the breastplate or helm. While it exists, this armor replaces any garments or other sort of armor worn, magical as well as mundane. You lose access to, and all benefits from, armor replaced by this spell until the spell ends and the instant armor disappears.
Instant armor acts in all ways as armor typical of its type (armor bonus, maximum Dexterity bonus, arcane spell failure chance, and so on). Since instant armor is made of force, incorporeal creatures can’t bypass it the way they do normal armor. The sort of armor you can create with this spell depends on your caster level.
The Instant Armor is actual armor, not merely an armor bonus to AC. Casting it would be immediate grounds for loss of clerical abilities. Personally, I'd think your deity would not even allow you to prepare it, but the rules don't say a lot on the deity's choice in the matter of spell preparation.
Luckily, even though you lost all your class abilities, you likely can still simply choose to dismiss the spell, and then wait out the minute for your blunder.