Selvaxri
|
My PFS druid has access to an item that allows him to cast a spell once per day- Rage via The Acrimony Veil.
So, my question is- Could i cast this spell while Wild Shaped via Nature Magic; and could I cast this spell on my animal companion via Shared Spell, and even via Beast-Bond Brand?
Thanks much.
| Saethori |
If it is cast as a spell-like ability, then you can cast it while Wildshaped, owing to the fact that you do not need to perform verbal or somatic components for spell-like abilities. However, you cannot pass it on through effects that care about spells, since it is not a spell.
If it is a cast as an actual spell, you need to provide components as usual. This would let it work with effects like Share Spells or the Beast-Bond Brand, but not with Wild Shape, unless you had something like Natural Spell. (You mention Nature Magic here, but I wonder if Natural Spell is what you meant.)
Starglim
|
edit: Interestingly, the item allows him to cast rage. It presumably follows the rules for rage, such as components, except as stated. I don't know that this makes it a druid spell, but Natural Spell may work.
However, he can only cast rage on himself. This isn't Target: Personal, it's the item's choice of target, in the same way that he can't cast the granted spell on multiple targets as would normally be possible.
He still gets the metamagic benefit, assuming he can cast spells, because it only requires him to have the item equipped in the appropriate way (held in hand as a rod, or worn on his head as a veil).
| Jeraa |
I would say that the wearer is not casting the spell at all. It is a magic item power the same as any other - you activate the item, and the item casts the spell. It doesn't allow the wearer to cat the spell - how would you figure the effects? What if the wearer doesn't have a caster level? What if he has multiple caster levels? Is it a spell (and so requires components)? A spell-like ability (no components necessary)? Many questions are raised if you believe the item lets the wearer cast the spell himself.
The power is in the veil, you just command it to activate. As such, you are not casting a spell (or spell-like ability). As it requires activation, it can not be used while wildshaped. No special rules or complications - it functions the same as every other item that gives the effects of a spell.
Yes, it says "Casts". There are similar reference in other magic items as well (like the ring of telekinesis). You still need to activate those, and it isn't the wearer casting the spell.
Diego Rossi
|
I would say that the wearer is not casting the spell at all. It is a magic item power the same as any other - you activate the item, and the item casts the spell. It doesn't allow the wearer to cat the spell - how would you figure the effects? What if the wearer doesn't have a caster level?
The power is in the veil, you just command it to activate. As such, you are not casting a spell (or spell-like ability). As it requires activation, it can not be used while wildshaped.
Yes, it says "Casts". There are similar reference in other magic items as well (like the ring of telekinesis). You still need to activate those, and it isn't the wearer casting the spell.
As Jeraa said, you can't activate magic items while wild Shaped. Wild shape is a polymorph effect.
When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function). Items that require activation cannot be used while you maintain that form. While in such a form, you cannot cast any spells that require material components (unless you have the Eschew Materials or Natural Spell feat), and can only cast spells with somatic or verbal components if the form you choose has the capability to make such movements or speak, such as a dragon. Other polymorph spells might be subject to this restriction as well, if they change you into a form that is unlike your original form (subject to GM discretion). If your new form does not cause your equipment to meld into your form, the equipment resizes to match your new size.
You can't share spell that aren't cast by you, nor spell-like abilities.
Share Spells (Ex):
Spells cast in this way must come from a class that grants an animal companion. This ability does not allow the animal to share abilities that are not spells, even if they function like spells.