The stat stacking FAQ


Rules Questions


1) No. An ability bonus, such as "Strength bonus", is considered to be the same source for the purpose of bonuses from the same source not stacking.
<--- clear. No stacking

2) However, you can still add, for instance “a deflection bonus equal to your Charisma modifier” and your Charisma modifier.< --- clear. Stacking.

For this purpose, however, the paladin's untyped "bonus equal to her Charisma bonus (if any) on all saving throws" from divine grace is considered to be the same as "Charisma bonus (if any)", and the same would be true for any other untyped "bonus equal to her [ability score] bonus" constructions= Thats a no stacking clause, right? Bonus equal to charisma bonus is a charisma bonus.

Grand Lodge

That's how I and everyone else I've known has read the FAQ.

Quite a bummer for Paladins.


Yes, the FAQ says that un untyped bonus equal to charisma is just different wording that means it's a charisma bonus to X.


I would choose to err on the side of not being able to add a particular ability score mod to anything more than once, even if they are different types. I believe that to be the intent of the rule.

Grand Lodge

@Ciaran Not sure how you got that from it. The FAQ specifically says that they stack if they're different types of bonuses.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Antipaladin death knights sure got the shaft. >:(

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / The stat stacking FAQ All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions