Freedom of movement vs Paralysed by fear


Rules Questions


How would Freedom of movement interact with the Dread Mummy's Greater Despair which makes you paralyzed with fear?

Freedom of Movement

Spoiler:
This spell enables you or a creature you touch to move and attack normally for the duration of the spell, even under the influence of magic that usually impedes movement, such as paralysis, solid fog, slow, and web. All combat maneuver checks made to grapple the target automatically fail. The subject automatically succeeds on any combat maneuver checks and Escape Artist checks made to escape a grapple or a pin.

The spell also allows the subject to move and attack normally while underwater, even with slashing weapons such as axes and swords or with bludgeoning weapons such as flails, hammers, and maces, provided that the weapon is wielded in the hand rather than hurled. The freedom of movement spell does not, however, grant water breathing.

Greater Despair

Spoiler:
Greater Despair (Su)

Any creature within 100 feet of a dread mummy must succeed on a Fortitude save or be paralysed by fear for 1d4 rounds. Once a creature recovers from the paralysation effect, it remains staggered for 1 additional round. Whether or not the save is successful, that creature cannot be affected again by the same mummy’s despair ability for 24 hours. This is a paralysis and mind-affecting fear effect. The save DC is Charisma-based.

The possibilities I considered are -
1) You are physically impeded from movement but your fear makes you unable to decide to move (the Magics mentioned in the FoM are magics that physically impeded you, not mentally). Basically ignore FoM.
2) You aren't paralysed but you are instead Staggered for 1d4 rds and then 1 further rd.
3) You aren't paralysed but instead take the next worst fear condition - Terrified for 1d4 rds
4) You are merely Staggered for 1 rd.

Are there any actual rule guidelines on this?
If not what do people think based on the rules we do have?
Thanks


Freedom of Movement protects from movement-restricting status ailments such as paralysis and staggered. Thus, a character under Freedom of Movement does not suffer any negative effects from a dread mummy's Greater Despair which imparts paralysis and/or staggered.

The fact that Greater Despair is a mind-affecting fear effect doesn't matter. What matters is that Greater Despair imparts paralysis and staggered.

Furthermore, no text in Greater Despair says it imparts fear conditions such as shaken / frightened / panicked, so those effects are never taken into consideration.


I agree with Void. Greater Despair specifically calls the effect "paralysis;" Freedom of Movement specifically protects the affected creature from paralysis. There are no caveats about the source of the paralysis.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The answer is 5: You are paralyzed in fear for 1d4 rounds, but FoM lets you act normally during those rounds as if you weren't paralyzed. The duration of paralysis is still tracked (for example, in case Freedom of Movement wears off or is dispelled). When it ends, you are staggered for one round.

The important thing to remember is that Freedom of Movement doesn't prevent you from being paralyzed. It just lets you act as if you weren't.


voideternal wrote:

Freedom of Movement protects from movement-restricting status ailments such as paralysis and staggered. Thus, a character under Freedom of Movement does not suffer any negative effects from a dread mummy's Greater Despair which imparts paralysis and/or staggered.

The fact that Greater Despair is a mind-affecting fear effect doesn't matter. What matters is that Greater Despair imparts paralysis and staggered.

Furthermore, no text in Greater Despair says it imparts fear conditions such as shaken / frightened / panicked, so those effects are never taken into consideration.

I would note that nowhere does FoM say it protects you from been Staggered.

Staggered reduces your actions, not your Movement.


Stephen Ede wrote:

I would note that nowhere does FoM say it protects you from been Staggered.

Staggered reduces your actions, not your Movement.

A reduction in actions is a reduction in movement. FoM protects against slow, and Greater Despair is an influence of magic that impedes movement.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
voideternal wrote:
Stephen Ede wrote:

I would note that nowhere does FoM say it protects you from been Staggered.

Staggered reduces your actions, not your Movement.
A reduction in actions is a reduction in movement. FoM protects against slow, and Greater Despair is an influence of magic that impedes movement.

Being killed makes you unable to move, too. But FoM doesn't prevent you from being killed.


voideternal wrote:
Stephen Ede wrote:

I would note that nowhere does FoM say it protects you from been Staggered.

Staggered reduces your actions, not your Movement.
A reduction in actions is a reduction in movement. FoM protects against slow, and Greater Despair is an influence of magic that impedes movement.

FoM doesn't say it negates Slow. It says it stops Slow impeding your movement. It doesn't say it stops it restricting your actions.


Plausible Pseudonym wrote:
voideternal wrote:
Stephen Ede wrote:

I would note that nowhere does FoM say it protects you from been Staggered.

Staggered reduces your actions, not your Movement.
A reduction in actions is a reduction in movement. FoM protects against slow, and Greater Despair is an influence of magic that impedes movement.
Being killed makes you unable to move, too. But FoM doesn't prevent you from being killed.

I can just see it - GM "The Evil Wizard cast Power word Kill and you fail your save."

Player - "I have Freedom of Movement so I'm protected from magic that would impede my movements or limit my actions so I'm protected from Power Word Kill because that would impede my movement"

LMAO


Plausible Pseudonym wrote:
Being killed makes you unable to move, too. But FoM doesn't prevent you from being killed.

Being killed isn't magic impeding movement. FoM prevents magic impeding movement, grappling, and enables underwater movement. Death is none of these.


voideternal wrote:
Plausible Pseudonym wrote:
Being killed makes you unable to move, too. But FoM doesn't prevent you from being killed.
Being killed isn't magic impeding movement. FoM prevents magic impeding movement, grappling, and enables underwater movement. Death is none of these.

So...if I throw the dead body of my ally with FoM into a lake, they can move around again?

*ducks volley of rotten tomatoes +3*


Staggered can take move actions. Staggered counts.

So basically you walk around for a while then suddenly are unable to act. Good times.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Freedom of movement vs Paralysed by fear All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions