Slashing Grace and Panache


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

I can't find anyone answering the one question I want to know about slashing grace. So here it is: If I have my off-hand occupied (dual wielding or holding something) does my slashing weapon still count as a piercing weapon for the purpose of regaining panache and other swashbuckler abilities?


I believe the "You do not gain this benefit while fighting with two weapons or using flurry of blows, or any time another hand is otherwise occupied." text sums it up pretty well, if you have your off-hand occupied, its not treated as a piercing weapon, so no panache for you...

But out of curiosity, did you just overlook that text or was there something to make you think otherwise? (I'm not sure if that text was part of the original printing or if it was errata)

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
SillyString wrote:

I believe the "You do not gain this benefit while fighting with two weapons or using flurry of blows, or any time another hand is otherwise occupied." text sums it up pretty well, if you have your off-hand occupied, its not treated as a piercing weapon, so no panache for you...

But out of curiosity, did you just overlook that text or was there something to make you think otherwise? (I'm not sure if that text was part of the original printing or if it was errata)

I noticed that, however, it reads as this benefit while technically being two. And that part is unrelated to the grace effect of adding dex to damage, which is what is why the feat was changed. I am hoping, and think it should be that the weapon counting as a light or one-handed piercing weapon not to be affected even if the grace effect is removed.


"When wielding your chosen weapon one-handed, you can treat it as a one-handed piercing melee weapon for all feats and class abilities that require such a weapon (such as a swashbuckler’s or a duelist’s precise strike) and you can add your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier to that weapon’s damage"

^ All one sentence, also part of the designated "benefit" section of the feat, 99% sure it's all the benefit.

Spoiler:
Even if it was broken into two sentences it would still lean towards all of it being nulled by the "You do not gain this benefit while fighting... etc etc" because this part is in the next paragraph after what is essentially the original "benefit" paragraph of the feat. If it had been errata'd to have the "treat it as a one-handed piercing melee weapon" as a sentence, then they started a new paragraph for "dex to damage" and followed it up immediately (as part of the same 2nd paragraph) with the "no benefit when using off-hand" thing then it could maybe be interpreted as what you're wanting - But that would call into question why the entire text section was under the subheading of "Benefit" to begin with.

Quote:
Benefit: Choose one kind of one-handed slashing weapon (such as the longsword). When wielding your chosen weapon one-handed...

As far as I can see its a simple layout thats designed to avoid any confusion, which might explain why you cant find anyone else answering (or asking) the question, but that's just my take on it. If you can convince a GM to discern a different understanding then all power to you! :)


ACG p156 Slashing Grace wrote:

Slashing Grace (Combat)

You can stab your enemies with slashing weapons.
Prerequisites: Dex 13, Weapon Finesse, Weapon Focus with chosen weapon.
Benefit: When you take this feat, choose one kind of light or one-handed slashing weapon (such as the longsword). When wielding your chosen weapon one-handed, you can treat it as a one-handed piercing melee weapon for all feats and class abilities that require such a weapon (such as a swashbuckler’s or a duelist’s precise strike), and you can add your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier to that weapon’s damage. The weapon must be one appropriate for your size. You do not gain this benefit while fighting with two weapons or using flurry of blows, or any time another hand is otherwise occupied.

(Bigger and bolding mine)

It applies to the entire paragraph because the entire paragraph is the benefit.

Additionally, there is this FAQ.
If TWF worked with some parts of Slashing Grace and not others the FAQ would say that it, but instead it states that TWF does not work with Slashing Grace.

If you have anything in your offhand (except a buckler or swordmaster's flair) you cannot use Slashing Grace.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

Well, that's kind of what I feared... oh well, in a home game the feat might be useful, otherwise I see no use for it. No pirates shall ever exist in pathfinder for it. That is my opinion at least. Thanks for clarifying the bad news.


Daishizen wrote:
Well, that's kind of what I feared... oh well, in a home game the feat might be useful, otherwise I see no use for it. No pirates shall ever exist in pathfinder for it. That is my opinion at least. Thanks for clarifying the bad news.

Don't be so glum, it's still one the few ways for you to dump str and get dex to damage!


Is there a formal definition of "Occupied" in the rulebook?

It seems reasonable to rule that if a player is doing something that provides no mechanical benefit whatsoever with their other hand (e.g. holding a bouquet of roses, waving to a friend, etc.) that the hand in question is not "occupied" since I doubt Slashing Grace was intended to keep you from holding a bouquet.


PossibleCabbage, this is effectively covered in the FAQ. They created a FAQ with an errata to Swordmaster's Flair to specifically allow you to carry the Swordmaster's Flair in the offhand while using Slashing Grace.

In short, the offhand must have NOTHING in it other than what is specified as allowed (Buckler which doesn't count since your hand is still free and the Swordmaster's Flair).


That part of the errata that specified Swordmaster's Flair doesn't occupy your hand seems bizarrely unnecessary. I mean, if a buckler doesn't occupy your hand because you strap it to your hand instead of holding it, then why on earth would "wearing a green glove" occupy your hand? You could certainly tie a scarf or a sash around your hand much like the strap of a buckler, too. The kerchief is harder to imagine but it's not like there's a lot "holding a kerchief" would keep you from doing, honestly.

Like why does the "Green Glove Swordmaster's Flair" be assumed to occupy your hand without errata when literally every other magic glove (including a gauntlet) does not?


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

There is a feat in the Villain Codex called Two-Weapon Grace that lets you use feats like Slashing Grace while fighting with two weapons. Too bad none of the online sites have material from that book posted yet.


PossibleCabbage wrote:

That part of the errata that specified Swordmaster's Flair doesn't occupy your hand seems bizarrely unnecessary. I mean, if a buckler doesn't occupy your hand because you strap it to your hand instead of holding it, then why on earth would "wearing a green glove" occupy your hand? You could certainly tie a scarf or a sash around your hand much like the strap of a buckler, too. The kerchief is harder to imagine but it's not like there's a lot "holding a kerchief" would keep you from doing, honestly.

Like why does the "Green Glove Swordmaster's Flair" be assumed to occupy your hand without errata when literally every other magic glove (including a gauntlet) does not?

ACG p236 Swordmaster's Flair wrote:
These garish tokens usually take the form of colorful clothing accessories. While the user grasps a token in her off hand, she can spend 1 panache point to gain the use of a specific ability associated with the token.

The glove is not worn, it is grasped. And as such, by the rules, anything in your offhand prevents you from using Slashing Grace without the FAQ to state otherwise.


If I'm wearing a glove, and I clench my fist, am I not grasping the glove?

If I have the scarf wrapped around my hand, and I clench my fist, am I not grasping the scarf?


PossibleCabbage wrote:

If I'm wearing a glove, and I clench my fist, am I not grasping the glove?

If I have the scarf wrapped around my hand, and I clench my fist, am I not grasping the scarf?

Neither of those options are spelled out in the magic item's use and the slot is 'none' not 'hand'. It is not worn, it is held.

You can try to do all the fancy sidestepping around that that you want but the rules only allow you to hold these items, not wear them. As such they needed a rule allowing you to hold them while using Slashing Grace.

Clearly, other people saw this as an issue also or there would not have been on a FAQ on it.


There have been FAQs that explained obvious things to people who somehow did not see them before. Sometimes the PDT just wants to make things clear.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Slashing Grace and Panache All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions