Druid wearing boots of the cat


Rules Questions


Just wondering if I am a human druid wearing boots of the cat and then wild shape into say an octopus do I still get the benefits of the boots of the cat? Or do I have to take off the boots when I'm a human and then try to wear the boots afterwards?

Sovereign Court

Constant effect magic items still work - just the activatable ones that you cannot make use of.

Scarab Sages

Polymorph rules wrote:
When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function). Items that require activation cannot be used while you maintain that form. While in such a form, you cannot cast any spells that require material components (unless you have the Eschew Materials or Natural Spell feat), and can only cast spells with somatic or verbal components if the form you choose has the capability to make such movements or speak, such as a dragon. Other polymorph spells might be subject to this restriction as well, if they change you into a form that is unlike your original form (subject to GM discretion). If your new form does not cause your equipment to meld into your form, the equipment resizes to match your new size.

The boots meld with you body and will continue to provide its effects.


Thank you both.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Druid wearing boots of the cat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.