Skald - Spell Kenning spell level conflicts


Rules Questions


"a skald can cast any spell on the bard, cleric, or sorcerer/wizard spell list as if it were one of his skald spells known, expanding a skald spell slot of the same spell level to cast the desired spell"

I'm wondering if the skald gets to choose what spell list to pick from and if there is a conflict in spell level would they have to pick the higher spell level or get to pick to take either spell level

for an example:

A spell shows up on both of cleric and sorcerer/wizard spell list, for the cleric the spell is 2nd level for the wizard the spell is 3rd level, would the skald be able to choose what spell level to take it ( expanding the appropriate spell slot to cast it) or have to take the higher of the two.

the or makes me think they have a choice but wanted some clarification.


Since the wording specifically calls out the skald's ability to choose from among those lists, my reading would be that you choose the spell you want as it appears on one of those lists.

In other words, yes, you pick from among those lists. In your example you could choose to use the cleric-list version and then cast it as a 2nd level spell. You can also choose to cast it as the 3rd-level wizard spell, if you wanted to for some reason.

That's how it reads anyway. If there is a ruling somewhere that contradicts this I am unaware of it.


Higher save with a higher slot.


Given it's expending a higher slot for a hybrid caster and it's very limited usage a day, I see no reason to say there's conflict. Pick the a lot used so long as it's one of the choices listed (or you've expanded said options with a feat).


Thanks for the helps :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Skald - Spell Kenning spell level conflicts All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions