Spiked Gauntlet / Caestus + Buckler?


Rules Questions


Is it possible to wield a spiked gauntlet or a caestus on the same hand as a buckler?

If so, do both of the tools work at the same time or do you have to state which one is "active" each round?

If you DO have to state this, is there an action related to changing which is active, or is it an arbitrary choice?


Just gonna bump this up for visibility, it was late at night when I posted it.

Scarab Sages

Yes. If you attack with the weapon, you'll lose the AC bonus of the buckler until the beginning of your next turn.

You might want to look at the shield gauntlet style.


I need to be careful with my feats, being a Gulch Gunner Gunslinger, so I'll just take the AC hit since I can get +4 AC from a deed.


UE wrote:

BUCKLER

This small metal shield is worn strapped to your forearm. You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying it. You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon), but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so. This penalty stacks with those that may apply for fighting with your off hand and for fighting with two weapons. In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you lose the buckler's AC bonus until your next turn. You can cast a spell with somatic components using your shield arm, but you lose the buckler's AC bonus until your next turn. You can't make a shield bash with a buckler.

The Unhindering Shield feat would let you keep the Shield Bonus while attacking with that hand.


That's a potential higher-level feat I might take.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spiked Gauntlet / Caestus + Buckler? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.