Ambush and Iaijutsu (or similar skill)


Rules Questions


In a surprise round if a pg with Iaijutsu (or similar skill) throw a initiative more than the monster but fails in perception, how can it act before the threat occurs?


If you don't make the perception check and don't have an ability to "always act in the surprise round" then you simply don't act in the surprise round, but your imitative after the surprise round is whatever you rolled.


Claxon wrote:
If you don't make the perception check and don't have an ability to "always act in the surprise round" then you simply don't act in the surprise round, but your imitative after the surprise round is whatever you rolled.

"Iaijutsu Focus (Ex)

At 13th level, a kensai may always act and may draw his weapon as a swift action during a surprise round, though he is considered flat-footed until he acts. During a surprise round or when attacking a flat-footed opponent, he adds his Intelligence modifier on damage with his chosen weapon (minimum 0). "

He can act in a surprise round. But how if he don't know which treat occurs? For example: Kensai initiative roll 20, sneaky NPC-Thief 17.
Perception of kensai fail to detect thief. So which action can make the kensai? and Why? Teorically nobody out there

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ambush and Iaijutsu (or similar skill) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions