What Season Faction Card am I supposed to be on?


Pathfinder Society

2/5

I found a folder with a gm baby, first cert dated 1/7/16 but I forgot to put a faction card with the folder.

What season faction card should I be on for this toon?

thanks

Shadow Lodge

Faction Journal Cards wrote:
The organized play campaign will release additional Faction Journal Cards to reflect each faction’s evolving goals and its ties to the current season’s objectives at the beginning of a season. A PC joining a faction can only acquire the most recent version of a faction’s card; however, a PC who has checked at least one box on the earlier faction card may still continue to fulfill its goals and earn its rewards even into the new season.

Even if you started putting credit on the character a year ago, unless you actually played the character and checked a box on the previous season's card, you can only use the current season's card.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.

It was a GM Blob.

Just check the box for GM credit and you're good.

Grand Lodge

The text says "...a Pc who has check at least one box on the earlier faction card MAY still continue.."

Does that mean a character can choose to dump the card they have started in favor of the current faction card?

Silver Crusade 4/5 5/55/55/5 RPG Superstar 2013 Top 8

Allerum wrote:

The text says "...a Pc who has check at least one box on the earlier faction card MAY still continue.."

Does that mean a character can choose to dump the card they have started in favor of the current faction card?

You keep the old card no matter what. When the new season starts you get the new season's card. Once per scenario you can check a box on one of your cards. For example if you have a season 7 with at least one box checked at the start of season 8 you get a new season 8 card, and once each scenario you can check a box on either your season 7 card or your season 8 card. At the end of season 8 if you have at least one box checked on your season 8 card you can keep it (along with your season 7 card) and get a new season 9 card.

3/5 Venture-Agent, Georgia—Atlanta

Michael Eshleman wrote:
Allerum wrote:

The text says "...a Pc who has check at least one box on the earlier faction card MAY still continue.."

Does that mean a character can choose to dump the card they have started in favor of the current faction card?

You keep the old card no matter what. When the new season starts you get the new season's card. Once per scenario you can check a box on one of your cards. For example if you have a season 7 with at least one box checked at the start of season 8 you get a new season 8 card, and once each scenario you can check a box on either your season 7 card or your season 8 card. At the end of season 8 if you have at least one box checked on your season 8 card you can keep it (along with your season 7 card) and get a new season 9 card.

So you can start a new card even if you haven't completely filled the previous card?

Scarab Sages 4/5

Yes. You can always start the current season's card.

Grand Lodge

Thank you all for the clarifications on that!

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden

You can work on multiple season cards at a time.

You can always start the current season's card.

You cannot start on an older season's card. If already active on an older season's card, you can continue on that card.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Really? I've been operating off the ruling that once you start a new card, you can't go back to a previous one.

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden

Nefreet wrote:
Really? I've been operating off the ruling that once you start a new card, you can't go back to a previous one.

It doesn't say that. Although it also doesn't flat out contradict it.

S8 Faction Journal Cards wrote:

ADDITIONAL CARDS

The organized play campaign will release additional Faction Journal Cards to reflect each faction’s evolving goals and its ties to the current season’s objectives at the beginning of a season. A PC joining a faction can only acquire the most recent version of a faction’s card; however, a PC who has checked at least one box on an earlier faction card may still continue to fulfill its goals and earn its rewards even into the new season. The number of goals completed is measured by those fulfilled on that card only—goals completed on a different Faction Journal Card do not contribute to those on the first card.
Each Faction Journal Card provides one or more new rewards as well as at least one reward that appeared during a previous season. If a PC would receive a duplicate reward that she earned on a previous card, she instead treats her effective number of goals completed on all cards as though it were one higher. These bonuses stack—if she earned a duplicate reward on two season’s cards, she treats her effective number of goals completed as two higher.
For example, Ambrus Valsin has completed five of the goals on the Season 7 card, and he begins working on the Season 8 card. When he fulfills two goals on the new card, he earns the Explorer boon—the same boon he earned on his previous card. Instead of gaining two uses of Explorer, he gains benefits from the boon as though he had fulfilled six goals instead of five. He does not unlock any other rewards on the Season 8 card, but he increases the benefit of boons that scale based on the number of goals completed.

My interpretation of the bolded sentence is that you can continue working on the old card even if you do also grab a new card. However, you can still only check one box per session, not one box per card per session. So you're spreading your efforts thin.

Sovereign Court ** Venture-Agent, Philippines—Quezon City

Are there any faction cards for season 5 or do I use the Season 8 faction cards when playing season 5?

5/5 5/55/55/5

tiny owl wrote:

My interpretation of the bolded sentence is that you can continue working on the old card even if you do also grab a new card. However, you can still only check one box per session, not one box per card per session. So you're spreading your efforts thin. [/url]

It can be very helpful to always nab the rarest opportunity, although that's MUCH more helpful when there are different rewards than when the awards are the same (one reward higher doesn't really help for a lot of the "1/2 your goals completed round down ) rewards.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 *

Muzouka wrote:
Are there any faction cards for season 5 or do I use the Season 8 faction cards when playing season 5?

The season of the scenario has no bearing on which faction card you use. The season on the card just indicates when it was published.

You can check a box on any card the character owns. The character can take a new card any time you play it and there is a newer one than you already have; you just add that to the one(s) you have and continue choosing any one to check a box on when you play.

Make sense?

5/5 5/55/55/5

I think i have a character that can cover all of the rules.

I have a character i put dm credit on in season 6 (when the faction cards were out for like, 3 months before being replaced)

He was not played in season 7

He was played a fair bit in season 8 and ticked a bunch of boxes

Season 9 Rolls around in august

I'll be able to tick one box on season 6, 8, or 9 during any adventure: 9 because you can start a new card during the season, 8 and six because i've "locked in" the cards by ticking a box on them, but not 7 because its neither 7 nor did i tick any boxes on that year.

The Exchange 5/5

Ok, here's a new wrinkle on this...

I have a PC that started marking an Exchange Faction Card on his first three adventures... but, right after his third game, just before going to 2nd level I changed my mind and re-wrote him. Part of his change was a shift to another faction... so, what happens to his old faction card?

And as his 3rd game was Judge credit, can he "salvage" his GM credit check and start a Faction Card for his new faction (indicating that his 3rd game check was for his new Faction)?

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

How was it reported?

The Exchange 5/5

Nefreet wrote:

How was it reported?

LOL! I would think it was reported as Exchange Faction - though I guess I could always go back and "correct" it (being the one who reported it and all).

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / What Season Faction Card am I supposed to be on? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society