Kinetic Knight clarification.


Rules Questions


Hi all, so I'm playing a Kinetic Knight Kineticist with the aether element. I've just reached level 3 where I get the Blade Rush infusion.

Blade Rush costs 2 burn, but kineticists can only accept 1 burn per round until they are level 6. Is there supposed to be an exception for Kinetic Knights as their Kinetic Blade costs 0, should I reduce the cost of infusions with the Kinetic Blade prerequisite by 1?

Or is it intended for us to use a move action to gather power, provoke attacks of opportunity for activating bladed rush and accept 1 point of burn so we can move and attack instead of just moving and attacking?


It's designed more as an opening move. It's a mostly (but not entriely) a better charge option to get into the fray. It's not something you spam.


The only infusion the kinetic knight gets a reduced burn cost on is kinetic blade (because otherwise they couldn't move and attack for the first few levels without hurting yourself.)

After level 5 you can gather power to use it for free, which is handy to get in on any enemy within 30 feet (since you're probably wearing heavy armor so it's hard to walk that far in one round.)

Designer

4 people marked this as a favorite.

The Blade Rush infusion offers you a +2 bonus to hit (for -2 AC), you avoid AoOs from movement (meaning if you start outside the reach of a foe with reach, you can avoid those hits moving in), you move 30 feet (rather than 20 if you're armored), and it lets you fire yourself up into the air as well to hit low-flying aerial enemies (or to avoid difficult terrain or other things like that). At 3rd level, you'd gather power and accept 1 burn to do that when you need to. At 5th level, also when a normal kineticist could get it, infusion specialization reduces the cost by 1, so you could either gather power and do it for free or accept 1 burn to do it without gathering. As jedi8187 mentions, and especially at 5th+, it's situationally very useful but not something that replaces kinetic blade as your bread-and-butter option.


Thanks for the responses all, I mostly get the gist of it now. It lets you instantly move in any direction, but does that mean it has to follow charge rules where you must travel in a straight line?

If an enemy was behind a wall would I be able to go directly up 10ft, forward 10ft and then down 10ft?

Must I always be able to see and attack a target to activate it or can I do this ability 'out of combat' to get across rivers and on top of buildings?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Kinetic Knight clarification. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions