Possess Object and Action Economy?


Rules Questions


Howdy Folks,

I did a search on google and used the forums mostly searching the name of the spell and the words actions, as well as a few combinations of actions to see if I could drudge up anything. Most of what I got was some fun discussions about the spell but not the answer I was seeking.

For those unfamiliar with the spell

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/ultimateMagic/spells/possessObject.html

It works like Magic Jar, and animates like Animate Objects. I have several questions, some had prior answers, but I felt they where not given proper attention and some that don't seem to show. Mostly with Action Economy -depending on the conclusion of wording.

According to the spell: You possess a single object, as opposed to a creature. At first leaves me thinking I can only possess a single object of some undefined size.

It then reads: animating it as if the animate objects spell.

This leaves me with a curiosity. In Animate Objects you can animate a number of objects based on your caster level. While the Possess Object reads: "This spell functions as magic jar, except you transfer your mind to a single object", it does also read "animating it as if using animate objects, except your mind controls the object as if it were your own body.".

So my first question is; do you technically possess one object, while animating a number of objects within your amount allowed by caster level. Or do you simply remain to the one object, as per the first line of the spell.

My second question is; if by some weird, unlikely, silly, reason that you get more then one animated object out of this is how would their actions work. Would each have their own, pulling from your abilities, or would they all only have a collective set number of actions. A single shared move action, a single shared attack action. Meaning only one object gets to move or attack.

I believe the wording, indicates only one object of the size equivalent to your allowance by caster level via animate objects :

"Targets one Small object per caster level; see text"

"You may animate one Small or smaller object or a corresponding number of larger objects as follows: A Medium object counts as two Small or smaller objects, a Large object as four, a Huge object as eight, a Gargantuan object as 16, and a Colossal object as 32."

Or does it mean that, via some weird reasoning you'd be able to possess one object, counting as one, but technically be animating several? Or even technically possess the several at once?

The third question; what is the target for a dispel magic? If it is like Magic Jar would it not have the same needed target for a dispel (the Jar or crystal acting as a tether or the original body my spirit is from) or would it for some reason just need to target the Possessed Object?

The Fourth Question; Assuming you have a way to change the objects size. Does the CP remain the same (I know some say you don't get CP, but CP seems to be automatic based on the size of the animated object). I assume it remains the original sized objects CP.

Final Questions; Spells and Speaking does not work while possessing the object. Can a familiar with speech speak for you, and can you still use abilities, like Lay on Hands or Focus Powers from an Occultist?


1) One object, the target of the spell.
2) See one.
3) Available targets should be just the object and your body
4) I don't think you can change target unless you recast the spell, which is kinda hard without interrupting the first one, since you can't cast while controlling an object.
5) The familiar can speak, but you cannot speak to the familiar (the comunication is verbal, and you cannot speak) empathic link should work, so the familiar can relay your emotional status at least.

You might want to check Object Possession from OA, along with Possession, they seem to be the most recent take on magic jar an similar spells.


OA?

I mean. This is Object Possession as per UM and the SRDs. So your saying there is another source with more information? Whats OA stand for?


Occult adventures

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/occultAdventures/spells/objectPossession .html

edit: You had possess object :)


Oh, I may mean Possess Object. It's which ever is presented in UM. I tend to get them confused because of the similar name. That and Object Possession.

It's the one that acts like magic jar, and acts like animate objects.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Possess Object and Action Economy? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.