| Azothath |
Can you deliver more then one of the shadow's strength touch attacks a round if you are under the effects of the haste spell?
yes and no.
If only your body is, then no, as your shadow projection is not in the AoE of the Haste, thus not hasted. <evil grin>
If your shadow projection which is a shadow is hasted, then yes, if you make a full attack then you get another attack at full BAB excluding some other similar effects. Generally touch attacks are standard actions so you may have to charge or make your standard a full attack.
In PFS Shadow's do not have a language and cannot speak which makes spellcasting an issue.
| Merm7th |
Merm7th wrote:Can you deliver more then one of the shadow's strength touch attacks a round if you are under the effects of the haste spell?yes and no.
If only your body is, then no, as your shadow projection is not in the AoE of the Haste, thus not hasted. <evil grin>
If your shadow projection which is a shadow is hasted, then yes, if you make a full attack then you get another attack at full BAB excluding some other similar effects. Generally touch attacks are standard actions so you may have to charge or make your standard a full attack.In PFS Shadow's do not have a language and cannot speak which makes spellcasting an issue.
It's for use with my Necroccultist so all my spells are psychic (no verbal or somantic), I would just have to concentrate to cast without my implaments. In most cases,I'll be casting shadow projection on my spellbound puppet familiar.
It would have to charge to get a second attack with haste? Would a 5th level fighter have to charge to get a second attack with haste because his normal single attack would be a standard action? I've never heard this. It severely weakens haste for low level parties.
| Jeraa |
You don't have to charge. In fact, charging doesn't allow an extra attack with haste at all. The extra attack from haste is only granted when you perform a full attack, which you can still perform even if you only normally have a single attack.
If only your body is, then no, as your shadow projection is not in the AoE of the Haste, thus not hasted. <evil grin>
If your shadow projection which is a shadow is hasted, then yes, if you make a full attack then you get another attack at full BAB excluding some other similar effects. Generally touch attacks are standard actions so you may have to charge or make your standard a full attack.
Only if it specifically says it is standard action (like the ghosts corrupting touch ability). Otherwise, it follows the normal rules for an attack - standard action for 1 attack, full round action for (possibly) multiple attacks, and not an action at all for attacks of opportunity.
| Azothath |
the shadow has one attack.
It is a touch attack that does strength damage. It is incorporeal as the shadow is incorporeal.
If a shadow got two attacks, it would do the touch attack twice and the damage twice.
If a creature (a shadow is a creature) is affected by haste, then it can make an additional attack as per the spell rules.
The shadow has to meet the requirements in haste and that means it must make a full attack action.
In general the only movement you can take during a full attack is a 5-foot step. You may take the step before, after, or between your attacks. So a standard attack may become a full attack but you must declare the action before your PC acts.
Charge is a full attack action, "Even if you have extra attacks, such as from having a high enough base attack bonus or from using multiple weapons, you only get to make one attack during a charge." So I have to retract that comment (I was being humorous at the time) in a bow to the Charge text as it excludes high BAB (a very strong statement). In a side note
One, spell combat does get the extra attack from haste (because spell combat is basically a full attack plus casting a standard action spell).
Two, charge does not get the extra attack from haste (because charge only allows you to make a single melee attack). Even if a full attack for you is just a single melee attack, charging doesn't get the extra attack from haste.
Three, pounce does get the extra attack from haste (because pounce allows you to make a full attack when you charge).
And I am not finding that FAQ update at this time. It is a complex issue as usually spells override the usual conditions but in this case both are special rules. Other GMs may make other decisions.
| Jeraa |
Charge is a full attack action, "Even if you have extra attacks, such as from having a high enough base attack bonus or from using multiple weapons, you only get to make one attack during a charge." So I have to retract that comment (I was being humorous at the time) in a bow to the Charge text as it excludes high BAB (a very strong statement). In a side note
No it is not. Charge is a full round action, not a full attack action. Those are not the same thing. A full attack action is a specific kind of full round action.
In general the only movement you can take during a full attack is a 5-foot step. You may take the step before, after, or between your attacks. So a standard attack may become a full attack but you must declare the action before your PC acts.
No you do not.
After your first attack, you can decide to take a move action instead of making your remaining attacks, depending on how the first attack turns out and assuming you have not already taken a move action this round. If you've already taken a 5-foot step, you can't use your move action to move any distance, but you could still use a different kind of move action.
Assuming you haven't moved yet (or used any other move action), you don't have to decide to do a full attack until after you have already made a single attack.