| Johnny_Devo |
What is the minimum caster level that the scroll can be made into?
Is it level 5, the minimum caster level that the creator of the scroll could cast it?
Is it level 6, the minimum caster level that a sorcerer could cast it?
Is it level 7, the minimum caster level that a cross-blooded sorcerer gains access to it?
| Johnny_Devo |
So when the rules say "caster" in terms of writing a scroll, it's referring to the one literally casting the spell, not the one writing the scroll, and the minimum caster level is based upon the minimum level you gain access to the slot, not the minimum level you could possibly gain access to the spell?
RSX Raver
|
Well the only thing under "Cooperative Crafting" that even comes close to this issue is this line here:
Since different classes get access to certain spells at different levels, the prices for two characters to make the same item might actually be different. An item is only worth two times what the caster of the lowest possible level can make it for. Calculate the market price based on the lowest possible level caster, no matter who makes the item.
Which makes me believe that the answer is 5.
| Johnny_Devo |
magic creation rules wrote:In addition, you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites.You cannot have someone else provide the spell for a spell completion item (like scrolls).
Doesn't this make it work?
Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed).
Essentially, having another spellcaster on hand counts as fulfilling the prerequisite for that spell, no?
RSX Raver
|
If you need another character to supply one of an item's requirements (such as if you're a wizard creating an item with a divine spell), both you and the other character must be present for the entire duration of the crafting process.
Fairly sure that is why they have rules for cooperative crafting, so if you do not have the spell yourself.
However to play a little devil's adovcate here
Benefit: You can create a scroll of any spell that you know.
It does seem to imply you yourself must as least know the spell. And at that point why do you have the Sorc casting for you?
| Ravingdork |
Cooperative Crafting basically just makes it easier, allowing you to craft more quickly. It's not strictly necessary for team crafting. Otherwise, half the staffs in the Core book would have been illegal up until they released Cooperative Crafting.
It's less like Power Attack, which let's you do something new, and more like Two-Weapon Fighting, which enhances something you could already do.
Val'bryn2
|
The Universal Rules of Magic dictate that they don't care who's crafting it, the minimum level it can be made remains 5, regardless of if you could cast it at that level.
In addition, you are required to know the spell for spell trigger items, but that's only in regards to not being able to tack on a +5 to the DC to fake it. Cooperative creation is thus encouraged.
| Pizza Lord |
As others have said, the caster level would be 5th-level. Magic items like scrolls, potions, wands, etc. have a specific order they default to, class-wise. In most cases, this will be wizard/cleric first in regards to arcane/divine.
When someone is helping you make a scroll of fireball it will be at minimum caster-level for a wizard (obviously you can make it higher) regardless of whether they get their fireball spells at 5th, 6th, 10th, or are providing it from another magic item at CL 8.
| Drahliana Moonrunner |
What is the minimum caster level that the scroll can be made into?
Is it level 5, the minimum caster level that the creator of the scroll could cast it?
Is it level 6, the minimum caster level that a sorcerer could cast it?
Is it level 7, the minimum caster level that a cross-blooded sorcerer gains access to it?
In order to create a scroll of a spell you must either have it prepared, or be able to cast it spontaneously like a sorcerer. No one else can supply it. This applies to any other spell completion item such as a potion, or wand.
| Jeraa |
In order to create a scroll of a spell you must either have it prepared, or be able to cast it spontaneously like a sorcerer. No one else can supply it.
You just have to have some access to the spell. It doesn't have to come from you.
Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed). The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites.
As long as you have access to the spell (either from yourself, another caster, or a magic item), you meet the spell prerequisites of a magic item.
| dragonhunterq |
Johnny_Devo wrote:In order to create a scroll of a spell you must either have it prepared, or be able to cast it spontaneously like a sorcerer. No one else can supply it. This applies to any other spell completion item such as a potion, or wand.What is the minimum caster level that the scroll can be made into?
Is it level 5, the minimum caster level that the creator of the scroll could cast it?
Is it level 6, the minimum caster level that a sorcerer could cast it?
Is it level 7, the minimum caster level that a cross-blooded sorcerer gains access to it?
I read that in exactly the same way.
A closer look and I have been convinced that it is more likely linked to the preceding sentence and the bit that you can't increase the DC by 5 to obviate the need for the spell, rather than an over arching principle.