Extracts, Potions & Person spells


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Could a native outsider be effected by a person spell if consumed rather than targeted?

I seem to recall hearing something along these lines, but have also heard that there's no such exception.
It might be spell resistance instead that's skipped or it could be from another game entirely.

Any help`?

Could a regular Aasimar Alchemist be effected by their own enlarge or reduce person?

By chance do any of you have a link to a list of person spells?(dominate person, enlarge person, reduce person, charm person any others?)


I'm fairly certain that extracts and potions work exactly as the spells they're made from. So drinking a potion of enlarge person would have no effect on your aasimar alchemist.

Unless they happen to have taken the Scion of Humanity alternate racial trait. Several of the PC outsider races have a similar alternate racial trait to allow them to count as both outsider (native) and humanoid (human), such as the fetchlings' Bound to Here or the tieflings' Pass for Human.

Shadow Lodge

Like Onyx Tanuki, I am not aware of anything in the potion or extract rules that changes what they target. A spell that targets a humanoid, like Enlarge Person, will still only target / affect humanoids even if it's a potion or extract.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Extracts, Potions & Person spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions