Sunder and Attack of opportunity


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

If a NPC provoque a AoO, a PC can make Sunder instead a single attack?

For Example, the NPC draw a potion and the player sunder the potion instead hit de NPC

Liberty's Edge

Furansisuco wrote:

If a NPC provoque a AoO, a PC can make Sunder instead a single attack?

For Example, the NPC draw a potion and the player sunder the potion instead hit de NPC

Yes, they can and it doesn't even have to be a sunder. They can just attack of opportunity the potion as a special case.

It might even be way easier to attack the potion since it is AC 13 and 1 hp and 1 hardness for a glass vial.

PRD wrote:

Drinking a potion or using an oil is a standard action. The potion or oil takes effect immediately. Using a potion or oil provokes attacks of opportunity. An enemy may direct an attack of opportunity against the potion or oil container rather than against the character. A successful attack of this sort can destroy the container, preventing the character from drinking the potion or applying the oil.

Physical Description: A typical potion or oil consists of 1 ounce of liquid held in a ceramic or glass vial fitted with a tight stopper. The stoppered container is usually no more than 1 inch wide and 2 inches high. The vial has AC 13, 1 hit point, hardness 1, and a break DC of 12.


ryukadsgc wrote:


PRD wrote:

Drinking a potion or using an oil is a standard action. The potion or oil takes effect immediately. Using a potion or oil provokes attacks of opportunity. An enemy may direct an attack of opportunity against the potion or oil container rather than against the character. A successful attack of this sort can destroy the container, preventing the character from drinking the potion or applying the oil.

Physical Description: A typical potion or oil consists of 1 ounce of liquid held in a ceramic or glass vial fitted with a tight stopper. The stoppered container is usually no more than 1 inch wide and 2 inches high. The vial has AC 13, 1 hit point, hardness 1, and a break DC of 12.

That is a great little rule I had never noticed before, thanks.

In more general terms if the OP is faced with a similar situation (that isn't explicitly dealt with) then look at the specific combat manoeuvre. If it is a standard action - like bull rush - you cannot perform it as an AoO. If it replaces a melee attack - like disarm or sunder - then you can perform it as an AoO.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Sunder, disarm, and trip replace stacks and may be used on AoO.
Nothing else can unless you have an ability that allows.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sunder and Attack of opportunity All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions