can weapons have more than one elemental enchantment?


Rules Questions


Such as a flaming frost longsword.
And if so can both be active at the same time?
I.e. 1d8 + 1d6 fire + 1d6 ice


Yes, however each element would have to be activated separately as a standard action I believe.


There is a rather necrotic thread that has just been re-animated arguing about this.

A short summary: according to the rules, yes you can have both and they can both be active. This has been reiterated and confirmed by a post from James Jacobs in that thread.

However, some GMs don't like it and would ban it in their games, or make it awkward to use. So check with your GM.

Edit: activation is a swift action, not a standard action, and you only need to use it if you have de-activated something. Check James Jacob's post explaining this. There was a lot of arguing about activation, but the rules assume that a) sheathing suppresses the effects and drawing it allows them to resume (no action beyond drawing the weapon); b) you can choose to de-activate it, and then it requires re-activating before it works again; c) multiple effects can use the same activation word but aren't required to. Likewise with de-activation.

Re-edit: interestingly, James Jacob's post stating that activation is a swift action appears to disagree with the general rule on d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat#TOC-Activate-Magic-Item which indicates that it is a standard action, like Skylancer4 said.


I think I remember that thread, I "kinda" took issue with the whole blazing fire sword being suppressed by a mundane sheath, with no rules to back it up. Basically, they tell you you can activate it with a command word (standard action) but there is no reason to deactivate it, ever. Just stick it in a sheath and all is well.

Obviously James is more in the know about things than myself when it comes to it, but when in the Rules Forum I try to give rules as written answers. I don't recall any errata or FAQs pertaining to magical weapons being any different in terms to activation and such. Your best bet is to go to the GM and say "Here is what the rules say, and here is what James has to say on the subject, which way are we doing it for our game?"


Skylancer4 wrote:

I think I remember that thread, I "kinda" took issue with the whole blazing fire sword being suppressed by a mundane sheath, with no rules to back it up. Basically, they tell you you can activate it with a command word (standard action) but there is no reason to deactivate it, ever. Just stick it in a sheath and all is well.

Obviously James is more in the know about things than myself when it comes to it, but when in the Rules Forum I try to give rules as written answers. I don't recall any errata or FAQs pertaining to magical weapons being any different in terms to activation and such. Your best bet is to go to the GM and say "Here is what the rules say, and here is what James has to say on the subject, which way are we doing it for our game?"

I agree entirely.


I like James Jacobs and all, but he has stated multiple times that he does not know all the rules or even follow them.
ALL PRAISE THE MIGHTY DINOSAUR ON HIGH!


So a flaming, frost, shock, corrosive , and vicious would be legal?
I.e. longsword 1d8 + 1d6 fire + 1d6 ice + 1d6 electricity + 1d6 asid + 2d6 vicious.

If so all hail the rainbow sword lol.


fel_horfrost wrote:

So a flaming, frost, shock, corrosive , and vicious would be legal?

I.e. longsword 1d8 + 1d6 fire + 1d6 ice + 1d6 electricity + 1d6 asid + 2d6 vicious

As long as you had a +1 (minimum) enhancement first, then yes.

As shown in the other thread, some GMs don't like it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / can weapons have more than one elemental enchantment? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions