Falling prone and standing up on the same turn


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

If a creature takes a move action, and during that move action is tripped by another creature's readied action to trip, can that creature stand up from prone as a second move action on the same turn, forgoing its standard action?

In this specific scenario, a goblin swam 15 feet across a stream as its move action, then came out of the stream, was tripped by a PC's readied action, and then stood up. I could not find any RAW indicating you can't stand up on the same turn you were tripped if you still have the action economy to do so, but I wanted to double check.

Thanks!


Vengrim wrote:

If a creature takes a move action, and during that move action is tripped by another creature's readied action to trip, can that creature stand up from prone as a second move action on the same turn, forgoing its standard action?

In this specific scenario, a goblin swam 15 feet across a stream as its move action, then came out of the stream, was tripped by a PC's readied action, and then stood up. I could not find any RAW indicating you can't stand up on the same turn you were tripped if you still have the action economy to do so, but I wanted to double check.

Thanks!

Yes.


I'd say yes in general, and most likely no in the specific case:

The goblin swam 15'.
A goblin usually has a speed of 30, and you swim half your speed as a full round action.
Moving across the stream should have used all the goblin's round, meaning it wouldn't even have come out of the water.

Scarab Sages

Vengrim wrote:

If a creature takes a move action, and during that move action is tripped by another creature's readied action to trip, can that creature stand up from prone as a second move action on the same turn, forgoing its standard action?

In this specific scenario, a goblin swam 15 feet across a stream as its move action, then came out of the stream, was tripped by a PC's readied action, and then stood up. I could not find any RAW indicating you can't stand up on the same turn you were tripped if you still have the action economy to do so, but I wanted to double check.

Thanks!

Combat Rules wrote:
"In a normal round, you can perform a standard action and a move action, or you can perform a full-round action. You can also perform one swift action and one or more free actions. You can always take a move action in place of a standard action."


Alderic wrote:

I'd say yes in general, and most likely no in the specific case:

The goblin swam 15'.
A goblin usually has a speed of 30, and you swim half your speed as a full round action.
Moving across the stream should have used all the goblin's round, meaning it wouldn't even have come out of the water.

I didn't catch that part. In this specific case, Alderic is right. Swimming 15 feet would of required the goblins entire action for the turn. If he had just moved 15 feet under normal circumstances and this happened, then yes he would be able to get back up.

Dark Archive

Alderic wrote:


A goblin usually has a speed of 30, and you swim half your speed as a full round action.
Moving across the stream should have used all the goblin's round, meaning it wouldn't even have come out of the water.

Oops, how did I forget this. I had not been keeping half swim speed as a full round action in mind. It looks like it would not have been able to do this in this particular case, but in other cases not involving swimming or climbing etc., it would have been fine.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Falling prone and standing up on the same turn All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions