Monster Classes Woodlands questions


Advice and Rules Questions


Treant's size: When do they get medium and when do they get large? The chart and the Slam class feature both indicate that large is gained at 4th level of the class. However, the Large size class feature indicates that it is gained at 8th.
My assumption: medium is gained at fourth and large is gained at 8th. this would make slam's damage scaling make sense as well, if this were the case.

Winter Wolves' Scent: The chart indicates that it is gained at 3rd but its rules text indicates that it is gained at 2nd. typo?


yes but if that is the case why would treant get trample at 6th when it only effects creatures that are at least one size smaller then me? It wouldn't make sense as most things people fight are at least medium meaning i could rarely use my trample ability. this is why i'm confused on the size

Dreamscarred Press

Jeff informed me that 4th level is correct. This is a rare case where the table is right and the text is wrong. :)

We'll update the PDF so there's no confusion.


So if I become Large at 4th level, why do i start small instead of medium? Do I just skip medium? If I do skip medium, why? Just curious.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 8

LadyFireHeart: The treant starts as Medium. The Small size was incorrect and I missed in the conversation to layout.


oh ok thank you for clearing that up.


Rules Qurstion:
Skinchanger feat's humanoid form: does it have to be medium?

Interesting question:
Winter wolf gains the frostbite ability with 1 level in the class. say I also take skinchanger at level 1 as well, allowing me to gain a humanoid form. while in this humanoid form I lose my bite.
So let say I obtained a bite attack somehow for my humanoid form (feral heart soulknife, for example), would Frostbite work with it?


the new version of the Woodlands PDF still has the Winter Wolf's scent ability as not matching between rules text and the chart.


I would argue Frostbite wouldn't apply in that case, as it refers to the winter wolf's bite, not "...makes a bite attack..."


Sir Antony wrote:
I would argue Frostbite wouldn't apply in that case, as it refers to the winter wolf's bite, not "...makes a bite attack..."

probably. would be cool though.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Oh, it would be cool. I just wonder if there's a biomagical connection between the Frostbite ability and the breath weapon. Basically, is it all super cold air hanging out in the throat, and the winter wolf expels a little bit with every bite and occasionally blows out a bunch as a breath attack? If so, why can't they also use the breath weapon in humanoid form?

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 8

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thank you again, Air0r

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Third-Party Pathfinder RPG Products / Advice and Rules Questions / Monster Classes Woodlands questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice and Rules Questions