Telekinetic Blast and Telekenetic Haul


Rules Questions


Finally getting around to playing a Kineticist and was wondering if there was anything preventing me from using the secondary option of telekinetic blast and telekenetic haul in conjunction to hurl a 500 pound chunk of adamantine at a monster?

Then if I do use telekinetic blast this way would the object do damage like the violent thrust of telekinesis and deal 1d6 per 25 pounds?


If it is within your weight limit then no but it doesn't affect your damage at all. Unless you're doing the secondary option for telekinetic blast which means a "thrown improvised weapon" option.


Texas Snyper wrote:
If it is within your weight limit then no but it doesn't affect your damage at all. Unless you're doing the secondary option for telekinetic blast which means a "thrown improvised weapon" option.

That's exactly how I want to use it, and using the spell telekinesis as a precedent it'd be 1d6 per 25 pounds. Just wondering if that precedent is applicable.


Both telekinetic blast and telekinetic haul explicitly say that the damage is not increased.


i think you can fudge things around by hauling an object into the air and letting it drop but the falling object damage table kind of sucks.


Torbyne wrote:
i think you can fudge things around by hauling an object into the air and letting it drop but the falling object damage table kind of sucks.

It should work, but the damage isn't really worth it in most cases.

I suppose a large object could be used to attack 4 squares at the same time, but I'm not sure how that works.


Yeah, thats what i was trying to say in my previous post. There is also the problem that we dont know and it gets difficult to guess at the weight of objects at those size categories. Assuming a rock large enough to qualify as Colossal, how much do you think that would weigh? 30,000 lbs? couple that with making a touch attack to hit and the target having a DC 15 reflex save to half the damage... not really worth it.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

My question is if the larger objects can hurt more than one creature when loosening the threads.

Would it be the same damage for each creature?

The advantage is when one is using materials that bypass DR, but the damage that the regular blast gets up to makes for the lesser (hah) option to be subpar.

If the damage would scale to it's size (like a weapon), then it may be a different story, but as posted above, the abilities were carefull to say that the damage is not increased at all.


Or if you bury a target under a Colossal sized foot print do they suffer from the cave in or suffocation rules?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Telekinetic Blast and Telekenetic Haul All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions