Angel Hunter D
|
Ok, this is for PFS just so we're clear.
So as far as I can figure, you can give familiars slotless items no problem - So Ioun Stones should be kosher.
Next part of this is about what a tumor familiar can do while attached. If there's a reference for this already that'd be great but I haven't found it. If I gave the growth a purple ioun stone, can it use it to hit me with a spell while I do my own thing on my turn?
bonus round: if the stone has a full-round casting spell in it does he have to concentrate if he takes damage?
| Pizza Lord |
A tricky question. Just because an item is slotless doesn't mean it can always be used. Some slotless items still might require a bodypart. A slotless tattoo item that must be placed on a hand or arm probably won't be allowed if you don't have arms.
An ioun stone very clearly and specifically orbits a creature's head (not their naval, not circling around their bicep, not moving up and down along their spine). I would say that a creature must have at the very least a head analogue. This isn't usually a problem for a detached tumor familiar, because it has a form that will likely have a head (a bat, a cat, a raven). While they still grant the benefits of the familiar type when attached, I guess it would depend on if you rule that there's a cat-shaped tumor-form sticking out of your stomach or back. If your normal working of an attached tumor is that it's mostly a formless mass, then the ioun stone should not be allowed to work.
bonus round: if the stone has a full-round casting spell in it does he have to concentrate if he takes damage?
While activating the ability won't provoke attacks, if they are interrupted or damaged while casting the spell, it may be disrupted. Similar to what would happen if they successfully cast a spell that required concentration to maintain and they took damage.
| GinoA |
A familiar needs hands to use an Ioun Stone.Quote:When a character first acquires a stone, she must hold it and then release it, whereupon it takes up a circling orbit 1d3 feet from her head.
Except, at least in PFS, any animal or Familiar with INT >= 3 can use an Ioun stone.