Do Simple Templates stack on summoned creatures?


Rules Questions


I have a CN Summoner. In the description of Summon Monster, it states; "Creatures on Table: Summon Monster marked with an "*" are summoned with the celestial template, if you are good, and the fiendish template, if you are evil. If you are neutral, you may choose which template to apply to the creature. Creatures marked with an "*" always have an alignment that matches yours, regardless of their usual alignment."

At the bottom of Summon Monster, after the last table, it states,
"This creature is summoned with the celestial template if you are good, the entropic template if you are chaotic, the fiendish template if you are evil, or the resolute template if you are lawful; you may choose any if you are neutral."

The reason I am asking is because the first part says I chose and the second part says I it is summoned with the template. If I can't simple templates, then it sounds like being Chaotic Neutral ruins my choice of Celestial or Fiendish. Or maybe I get to choose between the 3?

If I can stack then what stacks? Resistances, SR, and DR don't, obviously. What about the pluses to CR? If I stack Celestial(+1) and Entropic(+1), the Acid 5 won't stack but it will add Fire 5, The DR/Evil and DR/Lawful won't stack but the better one benefits them and it will end up with Smite Lawful and Smite Evil (which obviously don't stack against a Lawful Evil Creature) but shouldn't it then get a +2 to CR?

I'm good either way, I just want to know how to handle this going forward.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

They wouldn't stack, as each template would, effectively, be coming from a different plane.


Darrell Impey UK wrote:
They wouldn't stack, as each template would, effectively, be coming from a different plane.

OK. That makes sense. So would all my creatures just be entropic or can I just choose between Entropic, Celestial, or Fiendish?

And are there any templates that aren't tied to a plane?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Darrell Impey UK wrote:
They wouldn't stack, as each template would, effectively, be coming from a different plane.

And? You do know there is a Chaotic Good aligned plane, just like there is a Lawful Evil aligned plane?

A Fiendish creature comes from an evil-aligned plane, a Resolute creature comes from a law-aligned plane. A Fiendish Resolute creature comes from a Lawful Evil aligned plane, like Hell.


Jeraa wrote:
Darrell Impey UK wrote:
They wouldn't stack, as each template would, effectively, be coming from a different plane.

And? You do know there is a Chaotic Good aligned plane, just like there is a Lawful Evil aligned plane?

A Fiendish creature comes from an evil-aligned plane, a Resolute creature comes from a law-aligned plane. A Fiendish Resolute creature comes from a Lawful Evil aligned plane, like Hell.

Ok, so a creature summoned from a CG plane could be Entropic and Celestial, but if I then take the Shadow Summons, could I add a shadow template as well? Shadow creatures have alignments too, right?


Damagecrab wrote:
Ok, so a creature summoned from a CG plane could be Entropic and Celestial, but if I then take the Shadow Summons, could I add a shadow template as well? Shadow creatures have alignments too, right?

Not really. If you read the description of the four alignment-based simple templates, you see that those creatures come from certain Outer planes with a particular atunement to that alignment. Fiendish creatures come from planes where Evil has a stone presence, and so on.

The Shadow plane on the other hand, where creatures with the Shadow Creature template come from, isn't an Outer Plane. It doesn't have an alignment atunement. Good, Evil, Law, and Chaos have no strong presence there, so you wouldn't find the corresponding templates there.

The Outer Planes are basically made from their respective alignments. Hell is literally made from roughly equal parts of Law and Evil. The inner planes are neutral.

That being said, if the GM allows it, it could be possible. As a Transitive plane, the Shadow plane coexists with all other planes - they overlap. It might be possible that some part of some plane has somehow pushed its way into another plane. That could result in a Shadow Fiendish creature, for example. But it would be a GM call.


Actually. I'm the GM in this particular game though it will probably end tonight. I just don't want to make a random ruling that I can't back up with some sort of reason. I'm using the summoner as NPC Party Support. It looks like there aren't any hard and fast rules so I'll just do what makes sense in the moment.

I do appreciate the input. You both made a lot of good points.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do Simple Templates stack on summoned creatures? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions
Icy Prison FAQ Request