Some additional MM questions


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Hi again!

After playing two scenarios of Deck 1, I've got a couple new questions.

1) A character managed to get hit by both Memories of Violence ("when you encounter a monster, evade it") and Echoes of Confusion ("you may not evade banes") at the same time. Not 100% sure how to handle this. I found the bit in the rulebook that says "if one card tells you that you cannot do something and another card tells you that you can, comply with the card that tells you that you cannot" so based on that we played it so that "you may not evade banes" which actually helped us because we didn't have a way with that character to evade banes anyway. Was this correct?

2) The Sun Falcon monster when defeated is shuffled into the blessings deck. Then, "When this card is discarded from the blessings deck, banish it and draw a blessing from the box." Normally when you draw a card, the person having the encounter is drawing it into their hand. In this case, the draw effect is happening at the beginning of a turn, unrelated to an encounter as the falcon appears on the blessings deck. We were unsure whether the drawn card is meant to replace the falcon on the blessings deck or whether the person who's turn is starting is supposed to get that drawn blessing into their hand.

3) Looking ahead, one of the characters can gain a (role card) power that allows them to recharge a blessing when used for an explore. One of the blessings in question doesn't have a direct explore power - instead it has a power (paraphrasing here) that allows you to discard to examine the top card of their location, then explore. Would that power allow that character to recharge a blessing used that way? I'm guessing the intent is yes, but unsure.

Thanks!


1) you did it correctly; cannot trumps can.

2) unless a destination is specified, draw is to your hand.

3) if the blessing power you're referring to has you examine then explore, then it counts as playing it to explore and can be recharged if the power feat allows you to recharge instead of discard when playing it for its explore power.

Hope that helps! Bring along any other questions you come up with!


Malcolm_Reynolds wrote:
3) if the blessing power you're referring to has you examine then explore, then it counts as playing it to explore and can be recharged if the power feat allows you to recharge instead of discard when playing it for its explore power.

I agree with this reading, however, I'm unsure how it should be handled if the wording was "Discard this card to examine your location; then you MAY explore"? Is "discard to activate a power which grants (an examine and) the *opportunity* to explore" the same as "discard to activate a power which makes you explore" ?


I think so; the explore, while optional, is still a result of having discarded the blessing for its power.


Thanks guys!

So related to (3) -

The blessing I was referring to was Wadjet (I didn't want to say too much to avoid being spoilery in case anyone wasn't looking ahead at role cards) and it reads "Discard this card to examine the top card of your location deck. Then you may explore your location;..."

The power in question reads "When you would discard a blessing that has the Abadar or Wadjet trait to add 1 or more dice to a check or to explore your location, you may recharge it instead"

Still counts as playing to explore?


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yes, playing a card means doing something with that card to use a power on it. Replacing discarding it with recharging it is still doing something with it to use its power, so it is still playing the card. Basically the card turns into "Recharge this card to examine the top card of your location deck. Then you may explore your location"


Hum I would disagree. For me the card turns into "Discard this card to examine..., then you may recharge it to explore...". Which is not the same (if what you find when you examine is such that you can't or don't want to explore, then you cannot recharge).


Frencois wrote:
Hum I would disagree. For me the card turns into "Discard this card to examine..., then you may recharge it to explore...". Which is not the same (if what you find when you examine is such that you can't or don't want to explore, then you cannot recharge).

This is exactly what I was wondering. It's not so much a question of whether you're still playing the card if you recharge vs discard. Sure you are. In fact you are "playing" a card even if you use a reveal power on it (I think), it's whether you can get a recharge when the main part of the power is an examine, and the explore is more of a secondary thing.

If the consensus is that you can get the recharge but only if you take the explore, that makes sense. Thanks!


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Oh I see. I misread the power that let you recharge. I agree with Francois then, you only get the recharge if you actually end up exploring.

(Side note: it's often better to mention the character/card you're talking about and fully quote the relevant powers than hiding it because "spoilers". Wouldn't have helped my reading comprehension, but it allows for more precise replies about the situation you're actually asking about)

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

skizzerz wrote:
I agree with Francois then, you only get the recharge if you actually end up exploring.

Right.


Malcolm_Reynolds wrote:

2) unless a destination is specified, draw is to your hand.

The Brain Ooze tells you to "draw" a monster from the box to increase the difficulty to defeat it, and it makes no mention of drawing it to anywhere else, or what to do to dispose of it afterwards. Surely the player fighting the Brain Ooze doesn't end up with a random monster in his hand. The intent is clear, but....

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Axoq wrote:
The Brain Ooze tells you to "draw" a monster from the box to increase the difficulty to defeat it, and it makes no mention of drawing it to anywhere else, or what to do to dispose of it afterwards. Surely the player fighting the Brain Ooze doesn't end up with a random monster in his hand. The intent is clear, but....

Added to FAQ.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Some additional MM questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion