Firedrake pistol and Siege gunner


Rules Questions


Do these work together? I am cosidering droping this item as a reward and I cant quite decide if either or both of these deeds work with it.

Firedrake pistol

This hefty +1 flaming pistol is elaborately carved with its barrel in the semblance of a roaring dragon and its grip wrapped in polished red dragonhide. When firing ordinary ammunition, the wielder may choose to have the firedrake pistol deal all of its damage as fire damage instead of normal damage. In addition, as a standard action the wielder may expend 1 unit of ammunition and create a cone of fire equivalent to burning hands rather than resolving that shot as a normal attack

Targeted Blast (Ex) At 1st level, when using a firearm or siege engine that targets an area rather than a specific creature, the siege gunner can spend 1 grit point to focus the brunt of the blast on a single creature within the target area. The target creature takes 1 additional point of damage for each level the siege gunner possesses. This is precision damage and is not multiplied on a critical hit. At 5th level and for every 5 levels the siege gunner possesses beyond that, she can select an additional creature to target with this bonus damage. Targets must be selected before any attack rolls or saving throws are made.

This ability replaces deadeye.

Scattershot (Ex) At 3rd level, if the siege gunner has at least 1 grit point, she can increase the effectiveness of scattering shots from hand-held firearms and blast shots from siege engines. The cone radius of scattering shots or blast shots increases by 5 feet for every three levels the siege gunner possesses (to a maximum of 30 feet at 18th level).

This ability replaces gunslinger initiative.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

As I read it, Targeted Blast will accept the burning hands effect as targeting an area because it does, but Scattershot will not accept it as a scattering shot or a blast shot because, y'know, it isn't.


I think I most agree with that reading. It definitely does not qualify as a scattershot but is a firearm that is effecting a area.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Firedrake pistol and Siege gunner All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions