Oracle / Sorcerer with Wrecker curse casting Break on held object


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

A multi-classed oracle/sorcerer with the Wrecker curse is determined to destroy a magic item. By holding it, she (temporarily) gives it the broken condition. Then she targets it with a Break spell. Questions:

1) Attended items normally base their saves on their own inherent saves or those of the wielder, whichever is better. Can the wielder choose not to let the item benefit from her save bonus, given that she is the one trying to destroy the item? Note that putting the item down and then casting the spell is not really an option since she wants to gain the advantage of the item already being broken.

2) What would happen to the item when she drops it afterwards, assuming that the item failed the save? Normally, a broken item reverts to its previous state when an oracle with the Wrecker curse lets go of it -- but this item went from broken to destroyed while she was holding it.


1) Generally speaking, RAW you can't do something the rules doesn't let you do. While you're allowed to deliberately fail a saving throw, I'm not aware of anything that says you're allowed to prevent an item (or anything that works similarly, like your familiar) from using your higher save bonuses.

2) This one's much tougher. I would say that because the spell changes its broken condition to destroyed, destroyed becomes its "actual condition" and therefore doesn't go away when you drop the item.

Scarab Sages

David knott 242 wrote:


A multi-classed oracle/sorcerer with the Wrecker curse is determined to destroy a magic item. By holding it, she (temporarily) gives it the broken condition. Then she targets it with a Break spell. Questions:

1) Attended items normally base their saves on their own inherent saves or those of the wielder, whichever is better. Can the wielder choose not to let the item benefit from her save bonus, given that she is the one trying to destroy the item? Note that putting the item down and then casting the spell is not really an option since she wants to gain the advantage of the item already being broken.

2) What would happen to the item when she drops it afterwards, assuming that the item failed the save? Normally, a broken item reverts to its previous state when an oracle with the Wrecker curse lets go of it -- but this item went from broken to destroyed while she was holding it.

1) No.

2) I'd handle it like restoring it to the unbrokened condition, as per the Wrecker curse. So you'd destroy the item, but then 1 round later, it would be back to it's actual condition (which would now be broken, but not destroyed). In effect, it would distingrate in your hands, the dust pooling at your and feat, and then reform into the broken item it actually is. For game purposes, it would not count as destroyed, just broken.

Although unclear, I'm not sure if a Wrecker Cursed Oracle could pick up normally broken items.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Oracle / Sorcerer with Wrecker curse casting Break on held object All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions