Using scrolls instead of spells on a magic weapon


Advice


Hi guys, so I want to make a whip with the magic ability of shock but for the construction part of the weapon I need your help. It says I need rather call lightning or thunder bolt to make this magic weapon but I can't use any of those spells (I am a summoner by the way) so I was wondering if I could use a scroll with one of the spells instead.

Thanks for the help


You are allowed to use an item to supply the spell requirements. Note you can skip pqs for the item by raising tbe dc to make by 5 per requirement you don't have.


You'd need one scroll for every day spent manufacturing the item... might be cheaper to actually hire a caster to assist you.


I recall the one per day rule for enchanting, but just now I cannot find it, where is it stated?


Under all the item creation descriptions.

Creating Magic Weapons wrote:
If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the weapon, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) but need not provide any material components or focuses the spells require. The act of working on the weapon triggers the prepared spells, making them unavailable for casting during each day of the weapon's creation. (That is, those spell slots are expended from the caster's currently prepared spells, just as if they had been cast.)

Bolding mine. Variations of that text are in basically every other one as well.


Thanks, I was onlh checking the general text applying to all item creation, didn't think to check specifics.


Actually, a narrow reading of the text leads one to conclude the maker must provide every prereq personally (i.e. no scrolls, wands, or casting assistants) or suffer the +5 dc penalty for unmet requirement.


If that were the case, why bother using a scroll or friend? You can just skip the pq completely for the same +5 dc.


Magic Item Creation wrote:
(although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed)

Takes a pretty perverse reading to say that that sentence doesn't grant you the ability to meet the pre-requisite through allies/items.


MMmh, looks like I missed that bit, which is what I was precisely looking for. I take back my previous comment.


Hi everyone, I would like to Thankyou all for your help.

I like this website and it is helping me with all my queries, although some people can be mean most people are wonderful

Thanks for all your help

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Using scrolls instead of spells on a magic weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice