Ravenous lunar oracle (swallow whole question)


Advice


I'm playing a changeling lunar oracle with the ravenous curse. This gives me the ability to use swallow whole the following turn after I make a successful bite, and grab if you are smaller. The only problem is me and the GM can't really find what the damage would be while they are in my stomach. I have only swallowed one person to date since most have died pre swallow right now we are treating it as acid splash.


For an eidolon with swallow whole it'd be bite damage +1d6 bludgeoning, i.e 2d6 if you're medium size. If the curse doesn't specify that seems a start.


Just to clarify after said victim is swallowed just add an addition damage die to the damage while victim is in the hellish nightmare of being eaten by the sweet innocent changeling.
Ex medium I do 1d6 with bite in stomach they take 2d6 for 2d4 rounds or until they escape
When large would that increase to 2d8s or is that just being greedy.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Where do you get the swallow ability?
Looking at the Ravenous Curse I can only see that you get blood drain at the end

Scarab Sages

Entryhazard wrote:

Where do you get the swallow ability?

Looking at the Ravenous Curse I can only see that you get blood drain at the end

You're looking at the hunger curse. Ravenous is 3pp.


Dragonbane886 wrote:

Just to clarify after said victim is swallowed just add an addition damage die to the damage while victim is in the hellish nightmare of being eaten by the sweet innocent changeling.

Ex medium I do 1d6 with bite in stomach they take 2d6 for 2d4 rounds or until they escape
When large would that increase to 2d8s or is that just being greedy.

If you begin your turn with your opponent grappled you can make a combat maneuver check to swallow it. It takes ordinary bite damage then. On your next turn it takes damage automatically, unless it has cut its way out by then or otherwise escaped. The amount of that damage = bite + 1d6 for an eidolon with swallow whole. If your bite does, say, 1d8+3 then the amount would be 1d8+1d6+3.


Most creatures deal damage with Swallow Whole around the same amount as their bite attack plus STR modifier. Some deal less, others deal more... rarely is it double and using a +1d6 could get screwy. I would just keep it simple and use your listed bite damage +STR. If you increase in size, so would your bite and Swallow Whole damage.


Thank you guys I'll let my GM know we weren't sure how it would work since we couldn't find any rules for it but I really wanted to play the tiny little lady that got mad took an enlarge person potion, and ate everything on the battle field. So far we have had to fights and it demoralizes the opponents quite a bit.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Ravenous lunar oracle (swallow whole question) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.