Locked Gauntlet and two handed weapons?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Mostly a double check. Wizard doesn't want to risk disarm attempts at their bonded object, but the object is two handed. Can I just wear one locked gauntlet allowing me to "hold" the two handed weapon while casting with one-hand? Or does a two handed weapon need two locked gauntlets?

It doesn't really say, hence the question. I'm also curious (yeah, just curious) if two locked gauntlets would result in +20 to disarm CMD for a two-handed weapon?


Two handed weapons can be carried in one hand, just not used in combat. And shifting grip is a free action.

As for two locked gauntlets, it appears to be an untyped bonus to your CMD, which doesn't stack. So this may not work.


This should work. wearing 2 locked gauntlets would make it twice as difficult to disarm as wearing 1 locked gauntlet.

Scarab Sages

Thanks.


"Removing a weapon from a locked gauntlet or attaching a weapon to a locked gauntlet is a full-round action that provokes attacks of opportunity."

MAYBE this is a bad idea to wear two gauntlets in order to cast spells. You know. What with it being the worst idea ever.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

If you're wearing a locked gauntlet, holding...anything...how do you put on the second one? Or if you're not holding anything, how do you lock them both, I can see the first, but how do you lock the second, or get them off once they're locked?


Well... if he were two handing a "Clawhand Shield" then the shield could perform the somatic components (AND - NO ASF)


How does that help a wizard and a bonded item? He can't take shield as a bonded item and even if he could he lacks proficiency in heavy shields. And he could still be disarmed.

Scarab Sages

Blindmage wrote:
If you're wearing a locked gauntlet, holding...anything...how do you put on the second one? Or if you're not holding anything, how do you lock them both, I can see the first, but how do you lock the second, or get them off once they're locked?

Good call. Definitely reinforces the idea that you could wear just one on a two handed weapon.

As for putting on two of them, the locked gauntlet is in the armor section. It specifically replaces the gauntlet normally part of the the armor, assuming you have normally gauntletted armor. There are rules for putting on armor with help. Not really that far fetched that you'd have a buddy help you put on the second one. Obviously, not an idea for a wizard, but a fighter my be wise to do this before an important battle.


Look... i'm not saying i would recommend the combo, but there is nothing preventing him from selecting a weapon with which he lacks proficiency. A bonded longsword is rather iconic, in fact.

A heavy shield is a one-handed martial weapon. So it meets the requirements for the bonded item. If a wizarf took the 1st level feat 'shield proficiency' and was a follower of Gorum with the religion trait 'Shield Trained', he could use the sheild both offensively and defensively without penalty (besides str & dex skills like everyone else).

You still need to deal with the arcane spell failure chance (which i think is ridiculous, considering you could have a hawk familiar perched on your arm, have an arm stuck in a concrete wall or even have an arm chopped off and not suffer any ASF)

But as soon as you can pay to have it upgraded to a clawhand shield, the ASF would go away.

If nothing else, its makes for an interesting character quirk.


A shield isn't a martial weapon. It's armour and shields. You enhance it with shield enhancements, not weapon enhancements. It can't be a bonded item, because shields aren't weapons.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Cavall wrote:
A shield isn't a martial weapon. It's armour and shields. You enhance it with shield enhancements, not weapon enhancements. It can't be a bonded item, because shields aren't weapons.

How do you figure? It's on the weapons table. The description for shield bashing even states that "the shield can be made into a magic weapon in its own right."

How is that not a magic weapon?


If you lock both gauntlets... how do you release either of them? You only need one hand to maintain it's grip to keep from truly being disarmed.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
ZZTRaider wrote:
Cavall wrote:
A shield isn't a martial weapon. It's armour and shields. You enhance it with shield enhancements, not weapon enhancements. It can't be a bonded item, because shields aren't weapons.

How do you figure? It's on the weapons table. The description for shield bashing even states that "the shield can be made into a magic weapon in its own right."

How is that not a magic weapon?

Being able to be used as as a weapon does not by logic move it from it's place in the armor table to the weapon table.


When you get proficiency martial weapons does that give you proficiency shield? No. So they aren't martial weapons. They are shields that can be used as a weapon.

They aren't up for bond.


Drahliana Moonrunner wrote:
If you lock both gauntlets... how do you release either of them? You only need one hand to maintain it's grip to keep from truly being disarmed.

I'd imagine such a character would be screaming "little help?" A lot.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Drahliana Moonrunner wrote:
Being able to be used as as a weapon does not by logic move it from it's place in the armor table to the weapon table.

It's literally on the weapons table.

Look on the PRD.

Under martial weapons, light melee weapons:
Shield, light special 1d2 1d3 ×2 — special B —

Under martial weapons, one-handed melee weapons:
Shield, heavy special 1d3 1d4 ×2 — special B —

Cavall wrote:
When you get proficiency martial weapons does that give you proficiency shield? No. So they aren't martial weapons. They are shields that can be used as a weapon.

I'd say that shield proficiency lets you use the shields for defense, while the martial proficiency lets you use them as weapons. They're listed as martial weapons, and thus are martial weapons.


And yet they aren't enhanced as weapons. They are enhanced as shields and armour. And are listed "literaĺly" under shields and armour not weapons. They aren't weapons. They can just be used as weapons.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

They show up under both weapons and armor. The description for shield bashes explicitly says they can be enchanted as weapons.


ZZTRaider wrote:


I'd say that shield proficiency lets you use the shields for defense, while the martial proficiency lets you use them as weapons. They're listed as martial weapons, and thus are martial weapons.

I think this is more or less how it works, actually. Mind, if you equip a shield that you are not proficient in, you take its ACP to your attack rolls with all weapons, as well as all physical skill checks. As such, it is an extraordinarily bad idea to try this if you are unproficient.

As weapons, the rules state they are martial bludgeoning weapons. Which means, if you are not proficient with all martial weapons, you must select Martial Weapon Proficiency (Light/Heavy Shield) as an additional feat known to not take the penalties.

...that said, to get back to the topic, the rules regarding shield bash only state that they are treated as a martial weapon for the purpose of shield bashes and how you can enchant them. Since the wizard is not trying to use them to shield bash, they aren't a martial weapon for him for his other purposes.


Also worth noting that shields appear in the close weapon group for weapon training. You, know with the other weapons of that category.


So what you're saying is that a bard, who could use shields, can't shield bash? They have proficiency in shields but not martial weapons.

Scarab Sages

Drahliana Moonrunner wrote:
If you lock both gauntlets... how do you release either of them? You only need one hand to maintain it's grip to keep from truly being disarmed.

You could just take off the gauntlets. They'd still be attached to the weapon, but they are gloves, after all. Nothing in the description suggests they'd be harder to remove from your hands than normal gauntlets.

Put one on, lock it in place, take it off, and use that hand to lock the other, then put your hand back inside the first one: 2 locked gauntlets. Maybe 3 rounds to do it. Not an in-combat option to equip, but you could probably take them off pretty quickly if you didn't mind dropping the weapon they were holding too.

Anyway, not suggesting the double locked gauntlets for a caster. Just a side question that was on topic with the others. Even if the GM allows locked gauntlets to be dropped as a free action on your turn, like other weapons, having two locked gauntlets would mean having no free hands for immediate action spells. It would be a disaster.


To quote fromthe FAQ on this very subject

Armor proficiencies and weapon proficiencies are different things.

Table 6–4: Weapon (page 142) lists light shields, heavy shields, and spiked shields as martial weapons. The shield bash attacks entries (page 152) say that using a shield in this way is a "martial bludgeoning weapon."

Regardless of whether or not you are proficient in wearing a shield for defense, attacking with a shield is using a martial weapon and you take appropriate penalties if you are not proficient in martial weapons (for example, if you are a cleric, you take a –4 nonproficiency penalty when making shield bash attacks because you are not proficient in martial weapons).


Cavall wrote:
A shield isn't a martial weapon. It's armour and shields. You enhance it with shield enhancements, not weapon enhancements. It can't be a bonded item, because shields aren't weapons.

Incorrect. Shields are martial weapons, listed in the weapons table for light martial weapons and one handed martial weapons respectively (light shield vs heavy shield). They require martial weapon proficiency to be used as such without taking penalties (just like a longsword) and can be enhanced with weapon enhancement bonuses (for extra bonus to hit and to damage) and magical melee weapon special properties. The heavy shield is a one handed weapon. Full stop.

Alternatively, if you want to use a shield for defense instead of offense, you need to have shield proficiency - otherwise, you take penalties.

It is possible to have martial weapon proficiency (or be able to treat shields as simple weapons through the shield trained trait), but not have shield proficiency. In this case, you can still weild a shield as a weapon without taking any penalties, so long as you aren't adding the shield's potential shield bonus to your AC.

Liberty's Edge

Cavall wrote:
And yet they aren't enhanced as weapons. They are enhanced as shields and armour. And are listed "literaĺly" under shields and armour not weapons. They aren't weapons. They can just be used as weapons.

The other points have already been addressed, so I'll just add that shields can be magically enhanced as both armor and weapons;

An enhancement bonus on a shield does not improve the effectiveness of a shield bash made with it, but the shield can be made into a magic weapon in its own right.

A shield could be built that also acted as a magic weapon, but the cost of the enhancement bonus on attack rolls would need to be added into the cost of the shield and its enhancement bonus to AC.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Locked Gauntlet and two handed weapons? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions