Amulet of the Blooded + Eldritch Heritage


Rules Questions


It was argued in one of my games that the Amulet of the Blooded would enable someone with Eldritch heritage to access the improved and greater variations earlier, as "the effective level of his[the wearer's] bloodline powers increases by 2." Effectively, they would gain access to the feat at the same level the sorcerers would gain each bloodline power (ex. Lvl 9 power as 9th lvl feat rather than 11th). Is there any truth to this? Is it overpowered to allow this if there are no explicit details stating otherwise?


Amulet of the Blooded; Description wrote:
Each different type of amulet of the blooded grants its wearer powers from one sorcerer bloodline, but makes him vulnerable to attacks and effects that target creatures with the appropriate bloodline (such as a blood-hunting weapon). If a creature that already has the associated bloodline wears the amulet, the wearer does not gain the abilities listed below; instead, the effective level of his bloodline powers increases by 2. This effect does not stack with other abilities that increase the effective level of bloodline powers.

Okay, yeah. This seems clear. A sorcerer wearing the amulet corresponding to his bloodline would treat his powers as if he was 2 levels higher, but would not gain any powers earlier.

Eldritch Heritage wrote:
Benefit: Select one sorcerer bloodline. You must have Skill focus in the class skill that bloodline grants to a sorcerer at 1st level (for example, Heal for the celestial bloodline). This bloodline cannot be a bloodline you already have. You gain the first-level bloodline power for the selected bloodline. For purposes of using that power, treat your sorcerer level as equal to your character level – 2, even if you have levels in sorcerer. You do not gain any of the other bloodline abilities.
Improved Eldritch Heritage wrote:

Prerequisites: Cha 15, Eldritch Heritage, character level 11th.

Benefit: You gain either the 3rd-level or the 9th-level power (your choice) of the bloodline you selected with the Eldritch Heritage feat. For purposes of using that power, treat your sorcerer level as equal to your character level – 2, even if you have levels in sorcerer. You do not gain any of the other bloodline abilities.

Special: You may select this feat multiple times. Its effects do not stack. Each time you select the feat, it applies to a different bloodline power for that bloodline available at sorcerer level 3 or 9.

You need to have a character level of 11. Superclear. Amulet of the blooded does nothing to circumvent this prerequisite.

I understand where the one arguing is coming from, but it just doesn't work that way.

That said, the one arguing is paying 10,000-15,000 gp while losing out on the abilities the amulet would normally grant, and is also using up their neck slot. It's a pretty subobtimal choice from my point of view. I would allow them to pick the feat earlier since they've invested quite a lot to do so.

(But that line of reasoning won't work if the one arguing is an item crafter making personally designed items.)


No, it shouldn't work. In addition to the feat prerequisites, Eldritch Heritage gives you a specific power (powers if you continue the feat tree) from a bloodline, but does not actually give you the bloodline. The amulet only functions as desired if you actually have the bloodline.

I would also personally be inclined to allow it as a house rule though (with a warning to the player that it's probably suboptimal and probably only advisable if they really like it thematically), as it's not a very powerful option.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Amulet of the Blooded + Eldritch Heritage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.