Provoking out of flanking: Does the Attack of Opportunity happen before they leave their square, or after?


Rules Questions


Let's say we have the standard flank:
_____
_____
_OXO_
_____
_____

And then X wants to move down 2 squares.

_____
_____
_O_O_
_____
__X__

This provokes from both players. Do the flankers get their flank bonus to hit the provoker?


Yes, attacks of opportunity resolve before the triggering action.


The AoO comes before the target move. So, if with the AoO you decide to do a trip instead of a regular attack the provoker would fall in his original square having moved zero feet.


Yes, though it should be kept in mind the flanked character can use the Withdraw action to avoid provoking for the first square of movement completely after which he is not flanked. If the character is trying to get away, this is probably what they want to do.

He could also 5ft step to avoid the AoO, though you could move right back into position on your turns, only one of you would be able to get the flanking bonus since the first person to move would not actually have flanking.


Everyone is bang on the money for this so I can afford a random aside:

Claxon wrote:


only one of you would be able to get the flanking bonus since the first person to move would not actually have flanking.

Readied action is NOT your friend.


dragonhunterq wrote:

Everyone is bang on the money for this so I can afford a random aside:

Claxon wrote:


only one of you would be able to get the flanking bonus since the first person to move would not actually have flanking.
Readied action is NOT your friend.

You can't ready a Move on the turn you 5-ft. You'd need to do something else to stop the reflank.


I thought the readied action reference was to,show how noth attackers could get the be efit of flank. If the first attacker to move takes his 5ft step, and then readies his attack intil the second attacker moves, they will both get the flanking bonus. This would limit the first attacker to only a standard action attack however.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Provoking out of flanking: Does the Attack of Opportunity happen before they leave their square, or after? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.