Shang Gou Weapon Enchantments


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Ultimate Combat wrote:

Shang Gou: Forged in pairs, these solid metal blades end in curved hooks, while the hand guards are hammered into outward-facing spiked crescents. Both the crescent and the tip of the hilt are sharpened for combat. They can be wielded as single weapons or with two-weapon fighting styles. The weapons gain the disarm special weapon feature when used individually. A pair of shang gou can also be formed into a single one-handed weapon to gain the trip special feature.

So, would one enchant Shang Gou as a single weapon, or as two separate weapons? It doesn't say either way in the description, while it does say something to the effect in things like the double walking stick katana and the butterfly sword.

Scarab Sages

Single weapon. Even double weapons and butterfly swords must enchanted each side separately.


Imbicatus, don't you mean as two separate weapons?

If you enhance one and aren't using them together I don't imagine the second weapon also counts as having the same enhancement, otherwise they would be the best weapon for TWF.

And as you mention, even with double weapon weapons each end is enhanced separately.

Scarab Sages

Sorry, I meant each weapon is enhanced as a separate weapon. I.e. A single hook sword is a single weapon, not two. I could have been clearer.

Silver Crusade

That's what I had figured. Thanks for the input!

Scarab Sages

Phylotus wrote:
Ultimate Combat wrote:

Shang Gou: Forged in pairs, these solid metal blades end in curved hooks, while the hand guards are hammered into outward-facing spiked crescents. Both the crescent and the tip of the hilt are sharpened for combat. They can be wielded as single weapons or with two-weapon fighting styles. The weapons gain the disarm special weapon feature when used individually. A pair of shang gou can also be formed into a single one-handed weapon to gain the trip special feature.

So, would one enchant Shang Gou as a single weapon, or as two separate weapons? It doesn't say either way in the description, while it does say something to the effect in things like the double walking stick katana and the butterfly sword.

Tough one. Does seem like the inention is that they are a matched pair.

Definitely two weapons for cost, but I think the GM could reasonably impose that they had to be bought as a set, since they are designed to fit together.

Still, sort of a petty point, which probably not enforced unless going for a very fluffy character or a heavy role playing setting.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shang Gou Weapon Enchantments All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions