2-1D clarification of negative on dice


Pathfinder Adventure Card Society

Silver Crusade 3/5 **** Venture-Captain, Missouri—Springfield

We ran this scenario recently, and upon finding big chief Wortus, the player rolled a 1 on the Goblin roll table. They failed the con/fort roll. Then they rolled for big chief and failed that roll. So -4. 3 questions:
1) do they stack?
2) is a bya a "check to defeat"? Because my understanding is no.
3) can you roll negative? Example rolling a 1 would be a -3

Thanks

Silver Crusade 4/5 ***

1. Yes, I would assume that they do stack.
2. BYA is not a check to defeat. The only thing that counts as a check to defeat is the box in the upper right hand corner.
3. I... am unsure.


3. No, you can't get a negative result.

WotR Rulebook p6 wrote:
Rules: Rolling Dice...No matter how many penalties are applied to a roll of the dice, the result can’t be reduced below 0.


One thing to note: While the BYA does not count as a "check to defeat," it does count as a "check against." Some cards care about that wording.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Another thing to note: the rule Hawkmoon quotes applies to the total you get from rolling the dice. That can't be negative. Each die, however, can be negative.

So if I'm suffering -4 from each die and I roll 2d12+2d6+2, and the roll itself is (5)(3)(6)(1), my total is: 1 + -1 + 2 + -3 + 2 = 2.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Adventure Card Society / 2-1D clarification of negative on dice All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Adventure Card Society