Checking my reach understanding


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Bloodrage with a bite attack, claws when raging, aberrant and abyssal crossblooded

1. Natural weapon (claw or bite) = 0-5 ft reach
2. Natural weapon (claw or bite) and large size from Demonic Bulk (SU) = 0-10 ft reach
3. Natural weapon (claw or bite), large size from Demonic Bulk (SU), and Abnormal Reach (SU) = 0-15 ft reach
4. Natural weapon (claw only), large size from Demonic Bulk (SU), Abnormal Reach (SU), and Long Limbs spell = 0-20 ft reach (bite still has only 15 ft reach)

5. Horsechopper = 5-10 ft reach
6. Horsechopper and large size from Demonic Bulk (SU) = 10-15 ft reach
7. Horsechopper, large size from Demonic Bulk (SU), and Abnormal Reach (SU) = 10-20 ft reach
8. Horsechopper, large size from Demonic Bulk (SU), Abnormal Reach (SU), and Long Limbs spell = 10-25 ft reach (bite still has only 15 ft reach)

Still only 1 AoO for a given move action moveing through my huge threatened zone.

Is all that correct?


reach goes from 5-10 at medium size to 10-20 at large size.

other than that you're doing it right.

Dark Archive

Ok, that would make it:

1. Natural weapon (claw or bite) = 0-5 ft reach
2. Natural weapon (claw or bite) and large size from Demonic Bulk (SU) = 0-10 ft reach
3. Natural weapon (claw or bite), large size from Demonic Bulk (SU), and Abnormal Reach (SU) = 0-15 ft reach
4. Natural weapon (claw only), large size from Demonic Bulk (SU), Abnormal Reach (SU), and Long Limbs spell = 0-20 ft reach (bite still has only 15 ft reach)

5. Horsechopper = 5-10 ft reach
6. Horsechopper and large size from Demonic Bulk (SU) = 10-20 ft reach
7. Horsechopper, large size from Demonic Bulk (SU), and Abnormal Reach (SU) = 10-25 ft reach
8. Horsechopper, large size from Demonic Bulk (SU), Abnormal Reach (SU), and Long Limbs spell = 10-30 ft reach (bite still has only 15 ft reach)

Still only 1 AoO for a given move action moveing through my huge threatened zone.

Correct now?


yup, looks good.


I will note, due to the fact that you are bringing all these together in the same grouping, that you can't use the claws while using the horse chopper. Your hands are just occupied.

Bite seems to work fine though.

And yes, the movement only draws 1 AoO from you, even if it passes through multiple types of threatened zones that you have. Because it is all part of the same move action.

I will also note though that you can grab the fortuitous weapon property for that horse chopper. 1/round, it can let you get in a second AoO at BAB-5 for the same action. Basically, you get a mini full attack when the enemy crosses through you zone. Obviously, fortuitous is one of the MAJOR weapon properties for your bloodrager along with furious.

Dark Archive

Yes, I know i can't use claws with the horsechopper. But usually I won't need all that reach and I prefer the 2 claw attacks for more chances to hit as well as better damage if both hit.

I didn't know about fortuitous, will definitely put that on the list.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Checking my reach understanding All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.