Runelord Alderpash


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


If you do not acquire this ally each character is dealt damage. Does this mean damage is dealt to each character at the location where the encounter occurred or to all characters at any location?

Cheers,
Rob


I think it says "...if you do not, each character is dealt 2d4+1 Fire damage." That would mean each character, regardless of location.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The full text of the relevant power is

Runelord Alderpash wrote:
Runelord Alderpash may not be evaded. To acquire this card, bury a spell that has an adventure deck number of 4 or higher; if you do not, each character is dealt 2d4+1 Fire damage.

As Hawkmoon previously said, that means every character regardless of location.


I thought attempting to acquire a card was optional? And that the "being optional" part didn't involve evading. It's clear this one's meant to not be optional, since otherwise why would you ever take the damage, but I'm not clear why it isn't optional.

edit - Ok I guess it's just how you read the card. If you read it as "if you do not acquire the card [take damage]", or indeed even as "if you do not bury a spell for any reason" then it's fine. I just found it confusing because the template is similar to "To acquire, make [a check]. If you fail [consequence]", in which case the consequence only occurs if you attempt the check.


Yeah, you can choose to not attempt to acquire a card. But that still counts as not acquiring it. (Though not as failing a check.) So, the "if you do not (bury a spell to acquire this card" part still happens. The only way you could avoid it would be to evade it. But of course, it can't be evaded.

Not such a nice thing for those not packing a spell. But maybe we only have ourselves to blame.


There are a bunch of boons like the Runelord in ADV5 of WotR. It was nice to see but yet not. Every time that we manage to acquire one of these, we try very hard not to let them go back into the box! :)


Also, when can Runeloard Alderpash close a location? Is there a FAQ or discussion thread elsewhere that might clarify when I can use this ally to close a location?

Regards,
Rob


Runelord Alderpash wrote:

Runelord Alderpash may not be evaded. To acquire this card, bury a spell that has an adventure deck number of 4 or higher; if you do not, each character is dealt 2d4+1 Fire damage.

Discard this card to add 2d4+1 and the Acid, Cold, Electricity, Fire or Force trait to your combat check.
Banish this card and discard your hand to permanently close your location, then end your turn.

I think basically at any time (except during an encounter of course). If you do it and there is a villain in the location deck, the normal process applies where you are just left with the villain, but the location stays open.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Runelord Alderpash All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion