Damaged While Maintaining a Grapple


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Let's say Mr. Ogre has grappled Mr. Fighter.

Instead of using a standard action to break out, Mr. Fighter decides to ready an action to attack Mr. Ogre when he attempts to maintain the grapple.

"Unless otherwise noted, performing a combat maneuver provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of the maneuver. If you are hit by the target, you take the damage normally and apply that amount as a penalty to the attack roll to perform the maneuver."

While I realize this is referring to the initial grapple, it feels similar to when Ms. Wizard casts a spell and Mr. Fighters readied attack forces her to make a concentration check.

So here's the question:

"Does taking damage from the target when performing a Combat Maneuver (aside from the possible initial Attack of Opportunity) force a penalty on the attack roll?"


No.
If you read it as attacks (aside from initial AOO) force a penalty then it would not even need to be a readied action, all the damage from the full attack on your turn would apply as a penalty.


Thewms wrote:

Let's say Mr. Ogre has grappled Mr. Fighter.

Instead of using a standard action to break out, Mr. Fighter decides to ready an action to attack Mr. Ogre when he attempts to maintain the grapple.

"Unless otherwise noted, performing a combat maneuver provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of the maneuver. If you are hit by the target, you take the damage normally and apply that amount as a penalty to the attack roll to perform the maneuver."

While I realize this is referring to the initial grapple, it feels similar to when Ms. Wizard casts a spell and Mr. Fighters readied attack forces her to make a concentration check.

So here's the question:

"Does taking damage from the target when performing a Combat Maneuver (aside from the possible initial Attack of Opportunity) force a penalty on the attack roll?"

No. That damage is pretty clearly talking about only the damage caused by that attack of opportunity.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Damaged While Maintaining a Grapple All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.