Abundent Ammo and named Bullet


Rules Questions


Can you use abundant ammo to get multiple named bullet's from a single casting (over multiple rounds). As Abundant ammo says the spell is discharged after it's fired.

Sczarni

If Adamantine bullets return to you as lead, I don't think this would work, either.

Silver Crusade

Hmm,

Abundant Ammunition wrote:

Target one container touched.

When cast on a container such as a quiver or a pouch that contains nonmagical ammunition or shuriken (including masterwork ammunition or shuriken, but not special materials, alchemical attributes, or nonmagical treatments on the ammunition) at the start of each round this spell replaces any ammunition taken from the container the round before. The ammunition taken from the container the round before vanishes. If, after casting this spell, you cast a spell that enhances projectiles, such as align weapon or greater magic weapon, on the same container, all projectiles this spell conjures are affected by that spell.

Named Bullet wrote:

Target one piece of ammunition or one thrown weapon.

You imbue the target with deadly accuracy against a selected creature type (and subtype for humanoids or outsiders) or a specific creature you know and can name. When used against the selected creature, the ammunition never misfires and is unaffected by concealment (but not total concealment), and at a range of 30 feet or less, the attack targets the selected creature’s touch AC. When the target hits the selected creature, you must overcome that creature’s spell resistance, or this spell has no effect. A normal hit scored using the target against the selected creature is considered to be a critical threat and deals 1 extra point of damage per caster level (maximum 20), which is not multiplied on a critical hit. A natural critical hit deals the same extra damage, but that damage is multiplied due to the critical.

Once the target is used to attack the selected creature, successfully or not, this spell is discharged.

The bolded part from AA seems to preclude single ammunition spells such as NB.


Interesting interpretation. But then what is the cutoff for what does and doesn't target a container?

Greater magic weapon mentions a container (though not in it's target line just in the description) and align weapon does not at all.

Though they do have the exact same Target line description.

magic weapon, greater wrote:

Target one weapon or 50 projectiles (all of which must be together at the time of casting)

Alternatively, you can affect as many as 50 arrows, bolts, or bullets. The projectiles must be of the same kind, and they have to be together (in the same quiver or other container). Projectiles, but not thrown weapons, lose their transmutation after they are used. Treat shuriken as projectiles, rather than as thrown weapons, for the purpose of this spell.

align weapon wrote:

Target weapon touched or 50 projectiles (all of which must be together at the time of casting)

Align weapon makes a weapon chaotic, evil, good, or lawful, as you choose. A weapon that is aligned can bypass the damage reduction of certain creatures. This spell has no effect on a weapon that already has an alignment.

You can't cast this spell on a natural weapon, such as an unarmed strike. When you make a weapon chaotic, evil, good, or lawful, align weapon is a chaotic, evil, good, or lawful spell, respectively.

But if that is the reasoning then is there a significant distinction between a spell that targets 50 pieces of ammunition or 1?


Abundant Ammunition wrote:
The ammunition taken from the container the round before vanishes.
Named Bullet wrote:
Target one piece of ammunition or one thrown weapon.

The piece of ammunition that you cast Named Bullet on vanishes the round after you fire it. You do not regain THAT piece of ammunition in your container at any time before that. It's replaced.


Right. The question is does the named bullet effect persist as the spell states it discharges. However because abundant ammunition is replacing the arrow:

abundant ammo wrote:
If, after casting this spell, you cast a spell that enhances projectiles, such as align weapon or greater magic weapon, on the same container, all projectiles this spell conjures are affected by that spell

does the named bullet effect propagate as well?

I find it unclear because of the discharged after fired. Which normally would end the spells duration. In the case of greater magic weapon ammunition the spell does not end after the arrow is fired and RAW there'd be a 50% (if i recall correctly) chance of retrieving the arrow (if abundant was not cast).


Named Bullet is cast on ONE piece of ammunition. Not on several.


Now I want to know what happens when you cast abundant ammunition on a canister shot (it's a container full of bullets, so it qualifies) and then fire it.


Rub-Eta wrote:
Named Bullet is cast on ONE piece of ammunition. Not on several.

Right, but must the spell target multiple projectiles?

I read "Projectiles" in the spell description of abundant ammunition as being used to include any type of projectile (for example bullets arrows or bolts) not explicitly several pieces of ammunition.

The Sideromancer wrote:
Now I want to know what happens when you cast abundant ammunition on a canister shot (it's a container full of bullets, so it qualifies) and then fire it.

In that case aren't you shooting the container itself though in that case? So wouldn't the spell be discharged when the container is inevitably destroyed?

Silver Crusade

Abundant Ammunition is cast on the CONTAINER the ammo goes in, not the ammo, followup spells must be able to be cast upon a container amount of projectiles (AW and MW both specify 50 projectiles aka the whole quiver).

Named Bullet can not be cast on a container/quiver, it must be cast one a single piece of ammunition.

Named Bullet does not interact with Abundant Ammunition.


Even if Rysky etc. are all wrong (I don't think they are) how do you get past the 'how is ammunition enchanted with named bullet non-magical?' question?


dragonhunterq wrote:

Even if Rysky etc. are all wrong (I don't think they are) how do you get past the 'how is ammunition enchanted with named bullet non-magical?' question?

abundant ammunition wrote:
If, after casting this spell, you cast a spell that enhances projectiles, such as align weapon or greater magic weapon, on the same container, all projectiles this spell conjures are affected by that spell.

This clause

Silver Crusade

Firewarrior44 wrote:
dragonhunterq wrote:

Even if Rysky etc. are all wrong (I don't think they are) how do you get past the 'how is ammunition enchanted with named bullet non-magical?' question?

abundant ammunition wrote:
If, after casting this spell, you cast a spell that enhances projectiles, such as align weapon or greater magic weapon, on the same container, all projectiles this spell conjures are affected by that spell.
This clause

Read the whole thing.

Named Bullet cannot be cast onto a container. Ergo, Abundant Ammunition and Named Bullet cannot be used together.


Yep, that clause will do it. Still won't work though for all the other problems you have to overcome.


Rysky wrote:
Firewarrior44 wrote:
dragonhunterq wrote:

Even if Rysky etc. are all wrong (I don't think they are) how do you get past the 'how is ammunition enchanted with named bullet non-magical?' question?

abundant ammunition wrote:
If, after casting this spell, you cast a spell that enhances projectiles, such as align weapon or greater magic weapon, on the same container, all projectiles this spell conjures are affected by that spell.
This clause

Read the whole thing.

Named Bullet cannot be cast onto a container. Ergo, Abundant Ammunition and Named Bullet cannot be used together.

Yea in that case I was quoting just that specific sentence as it was relevant to the question asked.

So to clarify. In order for a spell to be castable on a container it's target line presumably must include "(all of which must be together at the time of casting)", which implicitly (through the text of greater magic weapon) means in a container

Silver Crusade

Firewarrior44 wrote:
Rysky wrote:
Firewarrior44 wrote:
dragonhunterq wrote:

Even if Rysky etc. are all wrong (I don't think they are) how do you get past the 'how is ammunition enchanted with named bullet non-magical?' question?

abundant ammunition wrote:
If, after casting this spell, you cast a spell that enhances projectiles, such as align weapon or greater magic weapon, on the same container, all projectiles this spell conjures are affected by that spell.
This clause

Read the whole thing.

Named Bullet cannot be cast onto a container. Ergo, Abundant Ammunition and Named Bullet cannot be used together.

Yea in that case I was quoting just that specific sentence as it was relevant to the question asked.

So to clarify. In order for a spell to be castable on a container it's target line presumably must include "(all of which must be together at the time of casting)", which implicitly (through the text of greater magic weapon) means in a container

Pretty much.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Abundent Ammo and named Bullet All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions