Shocking Grasp Natural Attack


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

If I have cast Shocking Grasp and am holding the charge, I know that I can deliver the spell via claw attack. My question is if I have multiple claw attacks, and miss via the first one, and hit with the second, will the spell be delivered still?


Yes.

CRB wrote:
Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

I think the shocking grasp spell is "cast" on one limb, so you have to hit with that limb to benefit from it.

The Concordance

SmiloDan wrote:
I think the shocking grasp spell is "cast" on one limb, so you have to hit with that limb to benefit from it.

It isn't. As long as you are holding the charge, your natural attacks can discharge the spell.


SmiloDan wrote:
I think the shocking grasp spell is "cast" on one limb, so you have to hit with that limb to benefit from it.

I can't find any such rule in the spell description, the combat section of the CRB, or the magic section of the CRB.

Grand Lodge

I'm with Gisher, the range of Shocking Grasp is "Self". never specifies which limb, if any.

You can still kick at an enemy and discharge the held charge, if it connects.

Imagine a Magus with Iterative attacks and Chill Touch. yowza.


Using Frostbite with a pounce druid, had the same question. Should it be any limb, or should I designate a specific limb...

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Oh, cool! That's pretty neat!

Watch out for those carrion crawler mages!!!

:-D


Yeah you don't have to call out a specific limb. In fact I'm fairly certain you CAN'T call out a specific limb.

Since a touch spell discharges when you touch something you have to be really careful not to touch the wrong thing: Don't pick your nose ;)

If you're having trouble with touch spells, THIS GUIDE is pretty amazing.
If you're not playing a magus, you only really need to read Part 1: You got the Touch, you got the Power! and can stop reading at Part 2: Player Two has Joined the Battle!

If you don't want to read that but want the relevant text from the rule-book it's HERE

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shocking Grasp Natural Attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions