Diego Rossi
|
| 3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
The questions will be in 2 separated posts to get more specific FAQs if possible.
1) Swift or free actions can be taken together with readied actions?
Pro position:
You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally.
You are taking an action so you you can take one or more free actions together.
Swift actions are a bit more dicey as you can take them during your turn and the ready action say after your turn.
Against:
Ready
The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun.
Your turn has ended, so you can take only the ready action and those actions specifically allowed by a rule or a FAQ.
To make some examples:
If you can reload a crossbow as a swift/free action, can you do that after firing it as a ready action?
If you throw a dagger, you can use quickdraw to draw a new weapon (not necessarily another dagger)?
Drop prone after acting?
Diego Rossi
|
| 3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
2) If you can take any action (immediate or a free action that you can take off turn like speaking) you can still take your ready action or it is voided?
Pro:
yes obviously (it seem evident to me, but I can't cite any rule in favor of that):
Against:
No, it say:
Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition.
so the bolded part make your readied action void if you take any action after setting it up.
Diego Rossi
|
1) I think you can perform free actions with your readied action, but not swift.
I see the readied action as the part of your turn in the round, so I allow a swift action if you haven't already taken one.
I prefer to be lenient here.
Agreed, but having a clear FAQ is better than depending on the GM lenience or interpretation.
| shaventalz |
On the free-vs.-swift debate, the section on swift actions in the PRD says the following:
You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action.
So if you allow free action(s) during the readied action, you must also allow a swift action.