New Spell - Biting Words - Familiar question


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

So in the new book Magic Tactics Toolbox there is a new spell: Biting Words.
Short version:
Level 1
Target You
Effect: Once you cast this on yourself you can do a ranged touch attack doing 1d6 + STR or CHA (whichever is higher). It lasts 1 min/level and uses a minute per use.
Now I am a Sea Singer Bard. So I have a Parrot Familiar. He can speak Common (since he starts with a language). As a Familiar I can cast spells with a Target:You on him. Once I do this, does the damage (1d6 + STR or CHA) come from his stats? Or mine? I am the one who cast it on him. But now he is holding the spell and performing it.
I see 2 arguments to his:
1. The source of the magic is coming form me. So my Charisma modifier is what is creating the power behind the spell. So the Familiar is just using up my power I gave it, thus using my CHA modifier.
2. The Bird is doing the actual attacks by yelling at the enemy, so it would have to be its own Charisma...
Since Familiars can deliver touch attacks for you, the spell generally comes from you, but the "aiming" comes from the Familiar.
Thoughts?


The magic may have come from you, but the Parrot is not the target, so the spell uses the Parrot's Strength or Charisma modifier instead of yours.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Yeah I kinda felt that was going to be the case. I doubt there are many spells that have this issue.

With my familiar having a Strength of 2 and a Charisma of 7. The Damage Range would be 1-4, where as if it was able to use my Charisma (20) it would be 6-11. Oh well.

Too bad this isn't some sort of touch attack. Create a mobile flying yelling parrot turret.


Give it a little headband of alluring charisma +4 to get it's Charisma up to 11 so you can have it deal at least 1d6?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

He might end up with my hand-me-down headbands. Still pretty low level, so not enough gold for them yet.

I talked to my DM, she is cool with "house-ruling" using my Charisma, since we are "magically linked". Also because its too funny not to see used.

Still, bit of a bummer it doesn't follow the actual rules.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / New Spell - Biting Words - Familiar question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.