Anathema Archive


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Text of this artifact says:

"Each time a character uses the anathema archive, her mind becomes increasingly haunted and unhinged. Upon using the archive, the user must make a Will save (DC = 15 + twice the total number of times the user has used the anathema archive). Failure results in the user taking 1d4 points of Wisdom drain and becoming confused for a number of rounds equal to 1 + the total number of times she has used the artifact."

"Upon using the archive". Does it means that I'm allow to cast the spell or to receive and use the bonus on Knowledge check BEFORE attempt the saving throw, or that decided for what I want to use the Archive, I have to attempt the saving throw and if fail, I'm spending the daily use of the Archive with no result, so no spell cast and no bonus on Knowledge check?

Thank you.


Since it says "upon using" instead of "after using" I have to say you attempt the save and eat the results before receiving any benefit.


Failing the will save doesn't specify that you lose the benefit of the archive, though the confusion effect might have that effect indirectly.

Otherwise I agree with F-W.


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Since it says "upon using" instead of "after using" I have to say you attempt the save and eat the results before receiving any benefit.

In this case you are not using the Archive, you are barely opening it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Anathema Archive All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions